Maya Training

Creating characters In Maya and Zbrush

Maya Training

Creating character renders in Maya 2017 and Arnold

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 06-07-2003, 07:57 PM   #1
Opium
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Command to select all material?

Hi, I'm using MayaPLE and wonder if there are any command to select a specific material all over the model, instead of selecting face by face?
Opium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2003, 09:09 PM   #2
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I'm not entirely clear what you want to do. Do you want to select all materials assigned to a specific object? Or...?
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2003, 09:11 PM   #3
EagleKing
Lifetime Member
 
EagleKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 976
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

mmh.... I don't exactly know what you mean.
just select the model and then assign material to selection.
But object mode must be on
EagleKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2003, 10:03 PM   #4
Opium
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Let's say if I have one big object with 3 or 4 different materials on it. Now I wanna change the scaling of the texture I have - let's say on material nr 3 - instead of selecting face by face which have the material nr 3, is there anyway to select all faces with material nr 3 at once?

I mean it takes so long time to select each face with material nr 3, so I wish I could select one face and then there was a command like Select Matching Material or something.

You got it?

Last edited by Opium : 06-07-2003 at 10:07 PM.
Opium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2003, 10:05 PM   #5
Witchy
Subscriber
 
Witchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,254
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If you go into the hypershade and right click on the material and chose 'select objects with material' that should show up the parts of the model that have that material assigned to them.
Witchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2003, 10:13 PM   #6
Opium
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Thumbs up

Ah...here we go! The hypershader!
Thanks for help!
Opium is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Opium For This Useful Post:
kitkana (13-01-2014)

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2017 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.