SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Animation / Animation / Softbodie Flag
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 31-07-2003, 11:31 PM   #1
foxhound
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Softbodie Flag

Im maknig a flag out of softbodies and wanted too know how to make the left side of the flag stay stiff, while the rest of the flag waves.I tried to paint the weights on it but it wouldnt let me for some reason.
foxhound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2003, 09:13 AM   #2
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I saw Alias had a tutorial on their webiste on the same thing but for some reason it's gone now since they did the site changes.....

but I did the same thing and it worked fine for me... what do you mean the weights do not work?

-Emo
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2003, 02:38 PM   #3
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

That was my question too...

Could you go over the exact steps you took, so I may try and re-create your problem?
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2003, 04:56 PM   #4
foxhound
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok well after i create a softbodie out of polygon plane i pick the flag and go to "Paint soft bodie weight tool" .My problem is that when i do i dont see a grey or white area where the weights would be to manipulate them.

As i said before i would like to get the left side of the flag stay stiff, kind of like if it was on a pole so i can get effects to get the rest of the flag waving.

I know Emo,it's just my luck that when i finally need a tutorial on the subject they go ahead and take it down.lol
foxhound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2003, 05:26 PM   #5
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by foxhound
Ok well after i create a softbodie out of polygon plane i pick the flag and go to "Paint soft bodie weight tool" .My problem is that when i do i dont see a grey or white area where the weights would be to manipulate them.

As i said before i would like to get the left side of the flag stay stiff, kind of like if it was on a pole so i can get effects to get the rest of the flag waving.

I know Emo,it's just my luck that when i finally need a tutorial on the subject they go ahead and take it down.lol
ok there is 2 problems i can think of.
  • you dont have color feedback enabled in display section of attribute paint tool
  • you are in wireframe mode (4-key) you need to be in shaded mode
and a suggestion as i just played with it - if you create the softbody, make it with goal weight of 1.0 and then paint the weight for the flag to e.g. 0.5 and leave the part of the pole at 1.0. with the default goal weight of 0.5 the flag cannot be painted to stay in place (as the weights are limited to 0-1). and depending on how it looks like, it might be worth to make the flag slowly going softer and softer (so that the weights go from 1 to 0 the more you go away from the pole).

hope that made sense ...
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2003, 11:01 PM   #6
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

DAM! hehe... you beat me to the explanation BabyDuck

Rock on with your bad self m8!
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2003, 11:17 PM   #7
foxhound
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The options you said before were checked in the attribute editor and it just turned the poly softbodie plane to black with the green wireframe.I attached a picture to show exactly how it looks.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	sp32-20030801-155749.jpg
Views:	69
Size:	35.0 KB
ID:	9513  
foxhound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2003, 11:31 PM   #8
foxhound
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

lol opps, looks like the picture didnt finish uploading.Here it is again.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	sp32-20030801-155749.jpg
Views:	69
Size:	174.5 KB
ID:	9514  
foxhound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2003, 12:00 AM   #9
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

did you get a paint brush that you can paint the side with?

-Emo
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2003, 12:04 AM   #10
foxhound
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ya i did.Sorry it was not in the picture.
foxhound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2003, 10:34 AM   #11
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default

foxhound, can you use any other artisan tool? like the sculpt surface tool. maybe your pen (if you use a graphics tablet) is too sensitive. if it is black, it means that the weight is 0. try flooding and see if it turns grey. and you might want to use the clamp values and turn both of them to 1.0 and see if when you paint it turns white. it could be a graphics card problem. oh and if you dont mind, disable all the xp slowdowns - let is optimize for speed and not for good look (what microsoft alone considers good look). not sure where to find it in the english xp, but somewhere control panel->system->enhanced->visual effects or similiar.

hope you get artisan to work with paint softbody weights. oh, but one thing i miss - is that stupid warning - my maya always prints the annoying warning that - you can use this tool only if you created the softbody with goal weight. even when i did that
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2003, 10:35 AM   #12
BabyDuck
Subscriber
 
BabyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,170
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default

oh and another thing - dont use "add", use "replace" instead. otherwise it could be a pain in the butt to paint exact values ...
BabyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2003, 04:42 AM   #13
foxhound
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Sorry it took so long to answer back but i had a family emergency.Umm yes i can use the other artisan tools.i think im at the point that ill just constrain the end of the flag to a couple locators but im having trouble with the effects like wind,turbulance and gravity to simulate a waving flag.Ill go ahead and post that problem in another forum.
foxhound is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.