SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Modeling / Modeling / Help with birail
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-08-2003, 09:05 PM   #1
ckyuk
Subscriber
 
ckyuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 1,334
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Question Help with birail

i'm trying to make my first surface using birail but when i've selected all the curves it i can't see a surface even though outliner is telling me it's there.
ckyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2003, 09:09 PM   #2
Blinn
Registered User
 
Blinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 290
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

make sure the ends of your profile curves are snapped to the rails. i had this problem too.
__________________
________

- Jacob
Blinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2003, 11:38 PM   #3
NitroLiq
Moderator
 
NitroLiq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,133
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

The best way to do it is hold the c key down when creating your profile curves so they snap to the rails as blinn said.
__________________
"Terminat Bora Diem, Terminal Auctor opus."
NitroLiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2003, 12:04 AM   #4
bernhard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Austria - St. Pölten
Posts: 93
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lightbulb check this out..

Hello !!!

well, I´ve posted a thread a few days ago with the same problem. adldesigner was really nice, and he explained all the stuff very detailed, so check this out:

http://forums.simplymaya.com/showthr...light=bernhard

best wishes,
bernhard :bgreen:
__________________
contact me via MSN: rieder@utanet.at
bernhard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2003, 09:26 AM   #5
Kevin
 
Posts: n/a
Default

there are not touching

The birail is a very picky thing - also make sure the history is deleted on the curve....also a good guess would be that you have once before made a surface, but deleted and remade..

If this is the case then yes it is VERY fussy - It is almost quicker to make a new curve over the old one and then delete the old one, I have had this problem many times.

But the first thing I would check is that your curves are touching, your curves match points (rebuild curve) and that the curve direction go the same way (curve direction - reverse)
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2003, 08:39 PM   #6
ckyuk
Subscriber
 
ckyuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 1,334
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Thanks, it was becuase i hadn't snapped the curves.
ckyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.