SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Modeling / Modeling / Extra Polgon Mesh Created?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-08-2003, 11:01 AM   #1
gazzamataz
Subscriber
 
gazzamataz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Planet Apple MacTosh
Posts: 523
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Extra Polgon Mesh Created?

Hi Mayans

I wonder if you wonderful people can help me out with this one. This is my first attempt at Sub-Ds and I have been modeling a Doggie Head. I decided to put a body on me doggie, so I went into polygon mode and selected the edges at the base of the neck and began extruding. First I noticed that it took ages to extrude and I have a 1.2ghz Athlon with a GeForce4 Ti200 so it's not too lame!

Then as I began shaping I noticed that I have several polygonal meshes... I can select one but not the others. I don't know what I have done. When I try to delete the history it has no effect and I cannot seem to delete these extra meshes.

Have a look at the attachements to see the mesh, then look at the Shapes and Inputs to see all the extraneous data I have created. I think I can get rid of it all but I would like to know what I have done
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	extramesh.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	47.1 KB
ID:	9706  
__________________
Tickety boo and ta ta for a bit...
Gazzamataz
http://www.gazzamataz.com
gazzamataz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2003, 11:04 AM   #2
gazzamataz
Subscriber
 
gazzamataz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Planet Apple MacTosh
Posts: 523
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Here's the other image showing the Shapes and Inputs data. I think I can delete the extraneous nodes in Hypergraph or using the attribute dialogue box. What do you lot think? I would love to know what I did...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	extrameshhistory.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	56.4 KB
ID:	9707  
__________________
Tickety boo and ta ta for a bit...
Gazzamataz
http://www.gazzamataz.com
gazzamataz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2003, 12:55 PM   #3
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,305
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

I would just go down to regular polys and see whats going on you might have duplicated faces. Then convert back to sub-ds, that might be the problem
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

http://kurtboutilier.cgsociety.org/
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2003, 08:20 AM   #4
gazzamataz
Subscriber
 
gazzamataz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Planet Apple MacTosh
Posts: 523
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Right! I think that I have figured it out myself. When I am modeling I switch between polygon and standard mode to select components - as you do - but because the model is getting more complex I got into the habit of hiding the subdiv surfaces to select and manipulate the polygon mesh more easily.

It appears that I was trying to select subdiv components in polygon mode while masked off and in doing so it was creating another proxy mesh with history...

I got around it and made the model lots smaller by going in to hypergraph and selecting the shape nodes 'polyToSubd1_polyToSubdShape1HistPoly1-3' and deleting them and there associated input nodes.

Worked fine and created a nice clean new polygon proxy mesh. There let that be a lesson to all you newbie Subdiv modelers out there!
__________________
Tickety boo and ta ta for a bit...
Gazzamataz
http://www.gazzamataz.com
gazzamataz is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 10:27 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.