SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Animation / Animation / help importing walk cycle into a new scene
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 16-08-2003, 02:18 PM   #1
doublecee
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default help importing walk cycle into a new scene

Help.... I made this walk cycle last week.... It was my 1st animation...
http://www.craigcrane.com/3Dworld/walk_web.wmv

And I now want to import it into a new scene. As you can see, its a static walk, but I want the dude to walk from a to b. But have a look at this Playblast. He just zooms back to the point of orign.



http://www.craigcrane.com/3Dworld/helpIK.avi

Why does he do this? And what needs to be done to stop it?


Ta!
__________________
www.craigcrane.com
doublecee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2003, 02:44 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I would imagine it's because he is keyed at that position. You'd need to group the entire thing, IK handles and all, in order to reposition it.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2003, 02:46 PM   #3
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,309
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

Ok mate.. the walk cycle its self is pretty good.... the foot rolls can use a bit more tweaking but your well on your way for your first walk cycle.

As for the new scene im pretty sure he's snapping like that because you moved him form point a to b most likely moving the foot controls.

Rember the walk cycles is static so you cant actually move him to get him to walk just by keying the foot controls.

There are 3 ways you should be able to fix this, keep in mind you will need to spead a bit of time to make sure that the movment of the character is the same speed as the scene.

1) Group you whole skeleton so you can move all of him to point a to b with out moving the foot controls.

2) Move the ground to give the apearence of him actully moving not static

3) Nice camera movement

Give me a a few mins i post up a example of each way you can fix it
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

https://www.artstation.com/kurtb
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2003, 02:46 PM   #4
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,309
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

Mikey you beat me hehehe=)
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

https://www.artstation.com/kurtb
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2003, 02:58 PM   #5
doublecee
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Grouping all works a treat!

Thanks guys.... Now my next question...

How do I break the walk cycle so that he may go on to do other stuff, like sit, stop, wave etc etc etc....
__________________
www.craigcrane.com
doublecee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2003, 03:12 PM   #6
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,309
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

Ok this is not a walk its a run and not perfect, but works the same way...Just group the skeletion and foot controls. Then key frame the postion
Attached Files
File Type: zip rungrouped.zip (43.6 KB, 35 views)
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

https://www.artstation.com/kurtb
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2003, 03:19 PM   #7
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,309
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

To break the cycle you can use the trax editor... just make to clips of different actions then put them together.

I dont use the trax editor, but have seen realy cool animations done with it.

With cycles it a bit harder to get things to stop and start or go from fast movents to slow.

Another way you break it up is to have the cycle only work for a certain number of frams. Say 1 to 16 is a run, then move the group to make him look like he is moving then at fram 16 the cycle is done. You can go into key fram animation to have him skid and slow down then finally sit or something like that.
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

https://www.artstation.com/kurtb

Last edited by Kurt : 16-08-2003 at 03:22 PM.
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2003, 03:21 PM   #8
doublecee
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

cool. I just tryed the same and did a PB and it works... I just now need to figure how to break the walk cycle and have him do other stuff.... and then plonk him into a scene.... so how does one do that? How do I break the cycle.... not very knowledgable on trax and graph ed's...
__________________
www.craigcrane.com
doublecee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2003, 03:22 PM   #9
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I usually don't do a infinite loop with cycles. Once you've got your basic steps, you can copy/paste those keys to continue the walk as long as you need and then simply continue to key it to change his motion.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2003, 03:23 PM   #10
doublecee
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

looks like we are practically on this in real time. You already answered me just as I was posting... thanks....
__________________
www.craigcrane.com
doublecee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2003, 03:25 PM   #11
Kurt
Registered User
 
Kurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Niagara Falls, Canada
Posts: 5,309
Thanks: 0
Thanked 64 Times in 64 Posts
Default

I would just use the cycles for only the number of frames you need. you might need to have a cycle that spans 40 frams.... once you got him moving as soon as you cycle is do0ne you can go into keyfram animation.

Just dont have you cycles in the graph editor on infinite. only make the cycle as long as you need it to be so you can do keyframing after.
__________________
I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination, knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world. (Albert Einstein)

https://www.artstation.com/kurtb
Kurt is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Importing Renders to AE Ozgalis Dynamics & Special Effects 1 08-12-2010 08:56 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.