SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 17-08-2003, 03:47 AM   #1
carrot juice
Registered User
 
carrot juice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 346
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Don't laugh too hard...

I have a REALLY STUPID QUESTION! you will laugh so hard.

but hopefully you will give me a hand as a final benevolent act before you die of laughing-initiated intestinal breach.
anyway, here the question is, in all its dumbness:

How do I render animations?

I have modelled in maya for years, but have never had to render more than test frames until now. my preveous rendering experience with rendering was in Animation: Master several years back, and all I had to do was set the frame range, padding etc to be rendered and hit "render". when I try to do the same thing in Maya, it still only renders the one frame I'm currently at. I have heard talk of "batch rendering" but when I try to do this, it asks me how many processors to use and then, when I click "begin batch render" it does: Nothing!
any help is appreciated, and please excuse my over(under?)whelming ignorance.
carrot juice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2003, 03:56 AM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Check out our free Render Globals tutorial on how to do this.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2003, 04:01 AM   #3
Vampus
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Sounds like you need to check your Render Globals. There is an option there for using only 1 CPU. I suggest you take a look at your other options while you are in there. Most are pretty self-explanatory...any that aren't, F1 them.
  Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2003, 11:55 AM   #4
drknow
Registered User
 
drknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,033
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Yea, change your start frame and end frame to the range you want, change your frames to whatever(i mostly use avi), and then look in your scripting window to watch it work.
__________________
It's Dr. Know, Not Darknow
drknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2003, 05:37 PM   #5
carrot juice
Registered User
 
carrot juice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 346
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks all! I didn't know that window meant it was rendering.
carrot juice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2003, 05:41 PM   #6
carrot juice
Registered User
 
carrot juice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 346
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

>>>Render Globals

This is one of the most frequently asked questions at Simply Maya:

Q. How do I render a movie?

A. Here you go...Mike will show you how

This is a tutorial will have you making movies in no time!
<<<

I just saw this by the render globals movie. man do I feel dumb!
=P
carrot juice is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.