SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 20-08-2003, 02:04 AM   #1
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Paint Effects

So I'm using Paint Effects to try these gaseous cloud like things, and I like how they look (pretty much). However, they only seem to render when the camera is almost on top of them. It's not a camera clipping thing, bacause I've done tests with poly objects even further away, and they render. So... it must be a paint effects thing. Any thoughts?

Take a look at my render and you'll see what I mean.

http://www.freshlettuce.net/~tarmy/s...s/ShotRb04.mov

Thanks
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2003, 02:23 AM   #2
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hmmm...I dunno what to tell you but yesterday I ordered a Paint Effects Video from Alias and when I watch it, I'll tell you

-Emo
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2003, 04:56 AM   #3
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Well, the first 3 things that come to my mind when I saw this were:

1. Add a light to the scene.
-looks like you have light in there already, but it might not be on the brush stroke from the beginning, so you only see it when the light passes by it maybe?

2. You might wanna try turning off Real Lights in the Illumination section of the brush Attribute Editor.

3. If the brush color is textured, check that stroke Color1 value is not black (OR KEYED!)
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2003, 05:19 AM   #4
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Rage,

You are truly a good man to be so helpful so often.

Unfortunately...

1. There are lights in the scene, and they are on the brush from the beginning.

2. I tried turning off REAL lights, but no change.

3. I'm not using a textured brush, so the Color1 option is greyede out and not available to me. I did try chaning the colors under regular shading to have lots of luminance, but again no change.

Any other thoughts?

Thanks for the effort.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2003, 05:25 AM   #5
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Dann
Rage,
You are truly a good man to be so helpful so often.
THanks!

Quote:
Unfortunately...
1. There are lights in the scene, and they are on the brush from the beginning.
DAM!

Quote:
2. I tried turning off REAL lights, but no change.
DAM! DAM!

Quote:
3. I'm not using a textured brush, so the Color1 option is greyede out and not available to me. I did try chaning the colors under regular shading to have lots of luminance, but again no change.
DAM! DAM! DAM!

Quote:
Any other thoughts?
Thanks for the effort.
I'm going to have to get back to you on this one man...
Can you gimme a day or so?
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2003, 07:35 AM   #6
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Well, I sort of figured it out. I'm actually suprised I hadn't alreasdy tried this one, but by turning off the DEPTH channel in the Brush attribute, it fixed it. Now I can see all of my rings. They overlap each other now and don't look so good, but I can tweak it and make it better. I'm just happy they all show up.

I wonder if there's a way to set the depth distances.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2003, 06:50 PM   #7
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Well, from the docs:
Quote:
Depth:
Turn on Depth to create a depth channel. Strokes appear on top of previously painted strokes when Depth is OFF.

In the scene, turn on Depth for more realistic natural effects (for example, for plants, fire, water). This should also prevent unusual results. By default, depth is forced on in the scene (see Force Depth).

Note :
Paint Effects may run slightly faster when Depth is turned off.

Modify Depth:
Depth must be turned on to use this option. Turn on Modify Depth to paint to the depth channel. If a stroke has a depth channel, but Modify Depth is off, the stroke appears behind strokes that are nearer in the scene.
Hope that helps a little?
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2003, 07:09 PM   #8
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Yeah, I sort of figured that out eventually. It's wierd though... with depth turned on, the Paint Efect on top should still render from any distance.

What I'm having to do is turn off depth for the top stroke, and then turn it on for the remainder.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2003, 10:52 PM   #9
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Weird Maya sometimes huh? hehe...
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
paint effects... se7enhedd Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 4 04-12-2010 03:59 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.