Maya Training

Creating characters In Maya and Zbrush

Maya Training

Creating character renders in Maya 2017 and Arnold

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 20-08-2003, 06:46 PM   #1
Scraggy_Dogg
Subscriber
 
Scraggy_Dogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Manchester U.K.
Posts: 252
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Poly's need circular hole...

Hi,
Im making some models for the challenge and am struggling. being so new.
Can anyone please tell me how to cut a circular 'hole' where the green poly is?
The green cylinder is there just because I tried a Boolean>Difference on it, but it did not produce a circular hole...

I left it there just so you could see what I mean.. It's supposed to be one of those waste bin's that have a circular flap....

Regards Scraggy
Attached Thumbnails
 
Scraggy_Dogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2003, 02:13 AM   #2
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Position your cylinder so that it goes through your trash can as shown in the image.

Select the trash can, then the cylinder and choose Polygons>Boolean>Difference.

A depression in your trash can will appear as shown in the image. Select all interior faces and delete them.

You now have a trash can with a circular hole.
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2003, 08:35 AM   #3
Zyk0tiK
Registered User
 
Zyk0tiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

awesome i needed to know that too
Zyk0tiK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2003, 02:18 PM   #4
Scraggy_Dogg
Subscriber
 
Scraggy_Dogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Manchester U.K.
Posts: 252
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks, I messed up because my 'hole cylinder' wasn't quite cutting right through the main surface and therefore messed up when I tried 'Boolean>Difference'
This is the first boolean that actually Did work!
Sorry for that. will check properly before posting in future.

[Plus I was sort-of expecing it not to work because of the other failures]
Have just read your reply to my Oscilloscope problem, hopefully I will be OK now... Thanks
Scraggy
Scraggy_Dogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2003, 12:49 PM   #5
gargorias
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks Darkware, that is just what I was looking for too!
gargorias is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2017 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.