SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Members Lounge / Mac vs PC
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-09-2003, 11:00 PM   #46
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Very spiffy
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2003, 02:07 PM   #47
wchamlet
Registered User
 
wchamlet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 195
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ultragames
one button is PURE FREAKING EVIL!! I have 8 on mine. Its my personal revenge against Macs for their one button crap!. lol
The same mouse you are using, the Logitech® MX™700 Cordless Optical Mouse, is also available for the Mac. The one button mouse issue is nonsensical, and is quite funny to think that people still believe that. I personally use an Intuos 2 Wacom tablet, on my Mac, and I chucked the one button mouse into the drawer when I got my computer.

ckyuk:

Man, that case is huge! It looks like the kid can fit inside of it! LOL. It looks pretty neat though.
__________________
My Website
wchamlet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2003, 05:01 PM   #48
Ultragames
Registered User
 
Ultragames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I know you can have other mice for the mac. I was just stating, that the standard ones, the ones i am forced to use at school, annoying me. I keep trying to use the right click, forgetting its not there. lol.
__________________
Armitrex Studios
Now open!!
Ultragames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2003, 05:27 PM   #49
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ultragames
the ones i am forced to use at school, annoying me.
Same problem here.
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

adldesigner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2003, 05:52 PM   #50
ckyuk
Subscriber
 
ckyuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 1,334
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ultragames
the ones i am forced to use at school
That's what i've got to use this year and as for Macs before last week i'd never even seen one and know i find out half my course is done using them.
ckyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2003, 08:57 PM   #51
Ultragames
Registered User
 
Ultragames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yeah. My school just got 30 new Emacs. Thats ok though, they just got 30 new Dells too.
__________________
Armitrex Studios
Now open!!
Ultragames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2003, 10:58 PM   #52
carrot juice
Registered User
 
carrot juice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 346
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Dell is better than mac... but I personally would not be caught dead with a dell
carrot juice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2003, 11:07 PM   #53
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ckyuk
I'd forgoten about RAID so i'll look into it and i didn't know you could get 10K HDDs so i'll look into those aswell.
hehe I'm just coming from Newegg... just ordered my HDDs for my new System....

1 WD Raptor (36GB)
1 WD 200GB 7200K
1 SATA controller (for the Raptor)
and a power converter for the Raptor as well...

a whapping $360 right there

-Emo
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2003, 05:02 AM   #54
Ultragames
Registered User
 
Ultragames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hey man, good choice with the MX 700. Was it me that brought that to your attention?
__________________
Armitrex Studios
Now open!!
Ultragames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2003, 05:15 PM   #55
ckyuk
Subscriber
 
ckyuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 1,334
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ultragames
Hey man, good choice with the MX 700. Was it me that brought that to your attention?
Yep
ckyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2003, 07:15 PM   #56
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Yeah, the MX700 rocks. I have 2 of them: one on my Dell tower and one on my Apple Powerbook. The best of both worlds.
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2003, 07:46 PM   #57
Witchy
Subscriber
 
Witchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,254
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Have you had any issues with the paint wearing off the mouse at the rear? I have had my MX700 about 2 months having bought it after seeing it reviewed on Tom's Hardware, and it looks like I have attacked it with sandpaper. I have sent a slightly rude email to Logitech (none of my other mice have done this after years of useful use) but wondered if anyone else has had the same problem?
Witchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2003, 07:54 PM   #58
brian_ellebracht
Registered User
 
brian_ellebracht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: St. louis Mo
Posts: 1,580
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

hey guys, I think that this will be my next computer...

http://www.alienware.com/system_pages/area-51m.aspx

I want to get the extreme

I would love to go out in the park and work on my 3d stuff!! Man, I could do so much more, when I am traveling and all kinds of stuff. Right now I have a dual 2.2 ghz athlon with about 1 gb of ram and only one internal 40 gb hardrive !!! kinda sucks, but I have a large external hardrive where I store all of my files so I can easily go from one computer to the next. It seams to me my computer is allready getting old need something new, and I think that the labtop would greatly inhance my ability to work on my stuff... oh well, bad thing about Athlons, is that they can easily overheat, very annoying. Talk to ya later,
Brian
__________________
Please check
My (old) website!
brian_ellebracht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2003, 09:00 PM   #59
carrot juice
Registered User
 
carrot juice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 346
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Maybe consider getting something with a Quadro FX go! in it... the hardware rendering is so worth it! the video card even in the extreme is just intel integrated graphics, which means just an okay GPU that uses your system's ram, not video ram... much slower...
carrot juice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2003, 09:20 PM   #60
ckyuk
Subscriber
 
ckyuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 1,334
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Yeah i've been looking at the new Quadro FX 3000 but £1,619 isn't cheap so i might get the Quadro4 980 XGL at £440
ckyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.