SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Help for shark modling (Transparency tag)
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-09-2003, 11:19 PM   #1
raj000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: mumbai
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Help for shark modling (Transparency tag)

Transparency tag is not working

Last edited by raj000 : 03-09-2003 at 11:50 PM.
raj000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2003, 11:48 PM   #2
adldesigner
Registered User
 
adldesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: CCS, Venezuela
Posts: 3,363
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Please remember to use the search feature of the site.
Taken from another thread ...

Quote:
Originally posted by adldesigner
Update Photoshop to Ver. 7.0.1
Updates to the software can be found at http://www.adobe.com/products/photoshop/update.html

... Photoshop now saves alpha transparency data in Targa files in the same way it did in previous versions ...

Should work.
__________________
adldesigner
Caracas, Venezuela
Hell .. not gone perse, but with a certainly lower post count per day.

adldesigner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2003, 11:51 PM   #3
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

Yeah, I was using Photoshop 6 for the tutorial, and apparantly without the upgrade, Photoshop 7 does some funky stuff when it comes to the alpha.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2003, 12:05 AM   #4
raj000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: mumbai
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Photoshop is not my problem

no
i am using (photo shop 6) Targa files this is not my problem
my problem is when i am done loding driven
in my attribute editor/transparency options is not working
( i think i can not explain properly)
can some one tell me how to post screenshot's in this forum??

Last edited by raj000 : 04-09-2003 at 12:09 AM.
raj000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2003, 12:29 AM   #5
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

hit the print scrn button, open a new photoshop doc, paste, crop, save.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2003, 11:16 AM   #6
misterdi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm just shooting in the dark here.

1. You create a material, and assign texture map to it a file texture that has alpha information in it.
2. You can not move the slider in AE for the material.

If that is the case, it is simply because maya automatically assign transparency of the image file (base on alpha) to the material.

You could see that the map icon change into connection icon in the AE. Simply break the connection and you regain control of the transparency slider.

best regards,
misterdi is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.