SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Members Lounge / PAL 780x576 or PAL 768x576
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-10-2003, 08:24 AM   #1
slickrenderer
Subscriber
 
slickrenderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Zurich/London
Posts: 663
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default PAL 780x576 or PAL 768x576

I making a small intro piece for a private TV. I am in europe. In maya what res. should I render the animation at PAL 780x576 or PAL 768x576. What is the difference.
I am bit in the deepend with this project :-O
__________________
grrrr
slickrenderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2003, 11:07 AM   #2
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

in the uk it's 720 x 576 it depends on the system I guess.... there's SECAM, Pal and different versions of PAL...... do some tests and see what works.... remember about title and action safe is all I have to say!!!

Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2003, 11:14 AM   #3
slickrenderer
Subscriber
 
slickrenderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Zurich/London
Posts: 663
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

"remember about title and action safe is all I have to say!!!
"

What do you mean by this sentence???? What is action safe???
__________________
grrrr
slickrenderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2003, 11:29 AM   #4
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

PAL is 768 x 576 @ 25fps
PAL DV is 720 x 576 @ 25fps (pixel aspect ratio is 1,0666...)
Normally these are also interlaced so they're actually 50 fields per second.
Action safe are means that almost every TV crops the image a bit meaning the whole picture is not necessarily shown. So you should leave about 10% border around the frame where you should not put any important action.
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2003, 12:10 PM   #5
slickrenderer
Subscriber
 
slickrenderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Zurich/London
Posts: 663
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Just confirmed that here it is Pal 720 x 576 as well :-)
10% safety space ...good point :-)

So how big will the whole animation be. Let's say 15 seconds...so 15x25=375 frames. Each frame is say 2mb. So 375x2=750Mb
Will need a DVD burner.
Am I on track or am I miscalculating?????
__________________
grrrr

Last edited by slickrenderer : 03-10-2003 at 12:17 PM.
slickrenderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2003, 12:23 PM   #6
slickrenderer
Subscriber
 
slickrenderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Zurich/London
Posts: 663
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

SO i will render all main object of the animation in sepearate layers. Then combine in a compositing package.

Q1- Lens flare effect should I do that in Maya or in the compositing package?

Q2-Can I render smoke in seperate layer as well in Maya? I guess I can.

That's all for now.
I will keep hassling you everytime I hit a wall :-)
__________________
grrrr
slickrenderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2003, 02:28 PM   #7
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

remember title safe as well! To see your safe action turn it on in the camera view>>camera settings>> show safe action / title. You need to be careful withe the safe title border it's even bigger than the safe action one.


It's better you know this now rather than once you've done all the rendering etc....
Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2003, 02:37 PM   #8
slickrenderer
Subscriber
 
slickrenderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Zurich/London
Posts: 663
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Pure thanks man! So any title should be inside the box. hmmm!!!
So much space getting eaten ah well....
__________________
grrrr
slickrenderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2003, 05:46 PM   #9
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

the bigger box is for safe action, the smaller box inside that one if for titles. It's surprising how small the box for titles actually is though

__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2003, 10:49 AM   #10
slickrenderer
Subscriber
 
slickrenderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Zurich/London
Posts: 663
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok I have to supply the file in 768x576 format but (square pixel)
Where do I choose square pixel in the render globals window in Maya?
__________________
grrrr
slickrenderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2003, 11:13 AM   #11
dragonfx
Registered User
 
dragonfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,257
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

square pixel=> pixel aspect ratio = 1

btw just in case it could help... here in spain we are told to use the "ccir pal" at default pixel aspect ratio when outputting to broadcast quality...

and 2k (now i cant remember the aspect ratio) for the machines to convert it to cinema that they have at molinare spain... never did it tough...

Last edited by dragonfx : 07-10-2003 at 11:16 AM.
dragonfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2003, 11:17 AM   #12
slickrenderer
Subscriber
 
slickrenderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Zurich/London
Posts: 663
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

he! he! I thought so :-) but I also thought that maybe I am wrong so better ask the SM gang .

How about device aspect ratio? My one is set to 1.33. Thst's not a problem is it?
__________________
grrrr
slickrenderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2003, 12:04 PM   #13
dragonfx
Registered User
 
dragonfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,257
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

the aspect ratio is only an issue if you are going to composite it with footage... it is desirable that your animmation and the footage have the same pixel aspect ratio... if youre just doing the animation by itself dont care about it... select the preset ccir pal and it willl work ok both in resolution as in aspect ratio...
dragonfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2003, 01:06 PM   #14
slickrenderer
Subscriber
 
slickrenderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Zurich/London
Posts: 663
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

OK cheers dragon mate. I will be compositin but not with footage only with other animation that I will be creating in Maya ;-)
__________________
grrrr
slickrenderer is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.