SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Members Lounge / 876Mb, but i only have 512.
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 13-10-2003, 09:12 PM   #1
ckyuk
Subscriber
 
ckyuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 1,334
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default 876Mb, but i only have 512.

I just opened an old street scene done by another member and thought i'd have ago at making it blow away in the wind like dust. Only the method i used wasn't very memory friendly as you can see. With all the simulation i was getting around 0.003 Frames Per Second. Don't think i'll be finishing this one.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	876mb1.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	535.2 KB
ID:	11059  
ckyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2003, 09:26 PM   #2
dragonfx
Registered User
 
dragonfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,257
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

bah thats nothing the other day my page file size reached a peak of more than 2 gb... just before crashing (it ran out of hdd space or something as i still havnt got a replacement of my second hdd after its death ...) and i was just moving a ramp... i reopened it after and it was ok again, but...

(page file refers to all the memory XP is using, ram and reserved HDD space used as ram....)
dragonfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2003, 09:36 PM   #3
ckyuk
Subscriber
 
ckyuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 1,334
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

2gb what the hell were you doing to use 2 gb. As for mine i was planning on turning it into a 15s animation. Just running it in the view panel would take about 1.5 hours, rendering would take weeks.
ckyuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2003, 10:08 PM   #4
fredriksson
Subscriber
 
fredriksson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 571
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Hahaha... That tank scene of mine could easily break the 2 gig PF and ~950 mb physical. And I've had a few "Memory exception thrown" when it eats through memory too fast. I tell you, subd's are not memory friendly
__________________
Björn 'santa' Fredriksson

<A href=http://www.bjornfredriksson.com>Site Online.</A>

Check out our 1on1on1 battle for the SandCrawlers.
fredriksson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2003, 12:37 PM   #5
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Quote:
2gb what the hell were you doing to use 2 gb. As for mine i was planning on turning it into a 15s animation. Just running it in the view panel would take about 1.5 hours, rendering would take weeks.
It wouldnt be that bad, it's slowed down because open GL cant handle that sort of stuff. When rendering the overhead is greatly reduced so it wouldnt be that bad. And if you bake the animation after your happy with the simulation then it will render a LOT quicker. It would also allow you to playback the scene. do some playblasts if you need to see it playing back in a GL preview

Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2003, 02:03 PM   #6
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: 876Mb, but i only have 512.

Quote:
Originally posted by ckyuk
I just opened an old street scene done by another member and thought i'd have ago at making it blow away in the wind like dust. Only the method i used wasn't very memory friendly as you can see. With all the simulation i was getting around 0.003 Frames Per Second. Don't think i'll be finishing this one.
That's not the real memory that youre using... you have 512 but it's DDR so that is doubled and that's why you have that much. And that's virtual memory...

at least this is my theory

-Emo
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2003, 02:15 PM   #7
dragonfx
Registered User
 
dragonfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,257
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

emo, ddr doubles the speed of the memory not the quantity... the extra memory over your ram is diskpace windows uses as ram... its a lot slower but it works...
dragonfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2003, 07:20 PM   #8
Emo
Subscriber
 
Emo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: MELville
Posts: 1,100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well then I was wrong..

anyway... he has 1248MB Commit Charge... same as me but I have 1249 :p

-Emo
Emo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2003, 10:30 AM   #9
-<{ JB }>-
Subscriber
 
-<{ JB }>-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 510
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hehehe, my Commit Charge Limit is 2300MB.
__________________
Take a glance at my <a href="http://forums.simplymaya.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=9428"><b>Porsche 959</b></a> WIP
-<{ JB }>- is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.