SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Animation / Animation / newb: Why is rotating joints weird like this???
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 14-10-2003, 09:49 PM   #1
orgeeizm
Registered User
 
orgeeizm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: union city, ca
Posts: 390
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default newb: Why is rotating joints weird like this???

Ok so im going through the Maya 4.5 Savvy Book and i am on the skeleton/joints section. Im going through one of the tutorial and it was telling me to select the Forearm joint which I created and to try rotate it on the Z axis..So i press E to rotate the selected joint but its rotating really weird. Its rotating like a screw on the Z axis and it says on the book its supposed to reach a certain number but it never gets there...THEN i try to rotate it by using the channel box and it works..

Im just confused why in joints its different when you rotate using the E tool and why its different in the channel box.

Can someone explain?

Thanks.
__________________
<a href="http://forums.simplymaya.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=16675">May/June 2005 Challenge Entry</a>
orgeeizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2003, 10:11 PM   #2
Dann
Registered User
 
Dann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Try double clicking your rotate tool to see if you're set to local vs. World. If one is giving you unexpected results, try the other one.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2016, 10:03 PM   #3
animfordabois
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

this did not help Dann. I am having the same issue as orgeeizm where the joints rotate in a drill type manner rather then rotating in their correct axis. I have been through all the axis Orientation options and they do not help. This only seemed to occur in Maya 2017 on my machine. Is there a setting I need to change?
animfordabois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2017, 06:10 AM   #4
dlopezdemedrano
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Animfordabois, can you possibly post up screenshots to better understand?

I would recommend as well the following, hold down "E" and the left mouse button. A hotbox will appear once you do that, make sure you're on the viewport when you do this by the way. You might have Gimbal turned on is the thing!

Feel free to check out my website! (:

http://dlopezdemedrano.com
dlopezdemedrano is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.