Maya Training

Creating characters In Maya and Zbrush

Maya Training

Creating character renders in Maya 2017 and Arnold

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 05-11-2003, 08:59 PM   #1
skramer8e
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: L.A.
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default align the pivot

I am having trouble aligning the pivot the way that I need it. I am trying to align the pivot to an edge so that I can scale it. Is there a way to rotate the pivot without rotating the object? Or is there simply a command to align the pivot to an edge or poly? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

thanks

I should mention that I have only been using Maya for 2 weeks, but I have extensive experience with Max.

Last edited by skramer8e : 05-11-2003 at 09:01 PM.
skramer8e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2003, 09:15 PM   #2
mrmacca
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Press insert on your keyboard to go into pivot mode. You can now move your pivot to where you want. If you want to snap it to an edge, hold down C and middle click on your edge, you may need to move the mouse slightly holding down the middle mouse button.
mrmacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2003, 11:43 PM   #3
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

To rotate the pivot, you'd need to rotate the local rotation axis, which is the question mark icon (miscellaneous) in the component mode selection masks.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2003, 05:39 PM   #4
skramer8e
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: L.A.
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default align the pivot

thanks for the help guys, that's exactly what I needed.
skramer8e is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2017 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.