SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lighting & Rendering, Dynamics & Effects, Texturing / Lighting & Rendering / Having problems with Sprites, Help needed
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 17-12-2003, 09:39 PM   #1
leonvan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Having problems with Sprites, Help needed

Hi Guys,
I attached a texture to sprite-particles and everything shows up just fine in the grid-window. When I make a hardware-render, however, you can see on the attached picture that if the sprites are far away from the camera, they somehow seem to loose their snowflake picture and start to get messed up. Only the once in the front that are close to the camera are still fine. But as I said, in the Grid Window even far away particles show up just right. So how can I adjust these sprites that they all will show the correct picture of that image? I really would appreciate every help. Thanks in advance,
Leon
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	prob.jpg
Views:	76
Size:	43.4 KB
ID:	12151  
leonvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2003, 10:34 PM   #2
3djoe
Subscriber
 
3djoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: CT USA
Posts: 566
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I am not sure it should work fine

How is your video card.

do other particles render fine?
__________________
Never Do Today What You Can Put Off Till Tomorrow..
My New Site MayaFx.com
3djoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2003, 10:48 PM   #3
leonvan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for your reply.
I didn't notice any problems with other particles yet. I use a Radeon 9700 as my graphic card. Do you think it might be the graphic card that is causing trouble? But then I wonder why everything else would work just fine.
leonvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2003, 10:54 PM   #4
3djoe
Subscriber
 
3djoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: CT USA
Posts: 566
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I am not sure. create a scene with just an emitter and sprites and try to hardware render and see what you get .
__________________
Never Do Today What You Can Put Off Till Tomorrow..
My New Site MayaFx.com

Last edited by 3djoe : 17-12-2003 at 11:17 PM.
3djoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2003, 11:20 PM   #5
leonvan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

alright, so here is the maya .mb file. I assigned the snowflake texture to the sprites and still get this weired outcome. If I don't use any textures, just the default color, the sprites display just fine, even in render.

Last edited by leonvan : 18-12-2003 at 12:10 AM.
leonvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2003, 11:23 PM   #6
3djoe
Subscriber
 
3djoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: CT USA
Posts: 566
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I need your snow flake image
Unless you dont want to upload it. I will use something else
__________________
Never Do Today What You Can Put Off Till Tomorrow..
My New Site MayaFx.com

Last edited by 3djoe : 17-12-2003 at 11:31 PM.
3djoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2003, 11:34 PM   #7
leonvan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

oh, sorry, I thought that the image will be stored in the .mb file.

Last edited by leonvan : 18-12-2003 at 12:11 AM.
leonvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2003, 11:46 PM   #8
3djoe
Subscriber
 
3djoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: CT USA
Posts: 566
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok this is what I got
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	snowflakes.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	59.9 KB
ID:	12156  
__________________
Never Do Today What You Can Put Off Till Tomorrow..
My New Site MayaFx.com
3djoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2003, 11:50 PM   #9
leonvan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

looks good to me. I applied the picture to my scene, and that's what i got:
Did you change any settings in your hardware render?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	prob2.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	16.9 KB
ID:	12157  
leonvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2003, 11:58 PM   #10
3djoe
Subscriber
 
3djoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: CT USA
Posts: 566
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

NO I just renderd animation at default settings.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	pic1.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	44.0 KB
ID:	12158  
__________________
Never Do Today What You Can Put Off Till Tomorrow..
My New Site MayaFx.com
3djoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2003, 12:05 AM   #11
leonvan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hey thanks so much: I found the solution. The problem was that the default setting for "use texture compression" is set to on. Once it is deactivated everything works just fine

Thanks for your help!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	solu.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	20.4 KB
ID:	12160  
leonvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2003, 12:08 AM   #12
3djoe
Subscriber
 
3djoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: CT USA
Posts: 566
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Glad you got it sorted out
__________________
Never Do Today What You Can Put Off Till Tomorrow..
My New Site MayaFx.com
3djoe is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.