SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 18-01-2004, 08:26 PM   #1
Sil-Valeor
Subscriber
 
Sil-Valeor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Borovnica, Slovenia
Posts: 434
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default Problems with rendering particles

Hello,
I have a problem.I'm a begginer when it comes to dynamics,but I have a problem. When i make particle object, set type to points or (any else), I then apply color to them useing shader or RGPpp in particels' atr. editor. When I'm in scene, they are the color they should be. But when I render it (useing hardware or soft. rederer), I can't see them at all. There's just a black background. What do I do wrong?

Tnx in advance!
Sil-Valeor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2004, 08:28 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

only particles labeled (s/w) meaning "software" will render with your normal render. Those would be "clouds", "tubes", and "blobby surface".

Everything else must be rendered using the Hardware render buffer found under Window > Rendering editors and rendered as a seperate pass that must be composited into your scene afterwards in Aftereffects or Premier or something similar.

This sounds like a good idea for a tutorial... think I might do that soon.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2004, 09:50 PM   #3
Sil-Valeor
Subscriber
 
Sil-Valeor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Borovnica, Slovenia
Posts: 434
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Thanks for help!
But shouldn't I see it with hardware renderer? If no, what is deference between soft. and hard. renderer?
And yes, I would appricate tutorial on this subject and think I'm not the only one!
Sil-Valeor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2004, 10:27 PM   #4
dirack
Registered User
 
dirack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cage #42 of the Asylum
Posts: 396
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The difference is that clouds, blobby surfaces and tube are software rendered, with your RAM fully, because their shape must be calculated in a way other than just calibrate their center point. The other particles that can be rendered with your hardware, do have a center and an 'all the same shape', wich cause them to be harware renderable. I don't see why maya couldn't make the hardware renderable particles be rendered with sofware render also... but they must have had a reason
dirack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2004, 08:20 PM   #5
Sil-Valeor
Subscriber
 
Sil-Valeor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Borovnica, Slovenia
Posts: 434
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Ok, tnx for explaining!
Sil-Valeor is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.