SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Right-clicking on Mac Mousepad
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-02-2006, 10:49 PM   #1
karmafilm2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Right-clicking on Mac Mousepad

Please! Until I get my Tablet, I'm trying to do this with a mousepad. HOW DO I RIGHT-CLICK on a mac mousepad?!

It's driving me insane.

Thanks, and by the way, this is a great site.

Look forward to bothering many of you with many questions....

Best,

karmafilm
karmafilm2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2006, 11:24 PM   #2
Taylor1234
Registered User
 
Taylor1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 77
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Welcome
I have a Mac My dad just got a new mouse for me (Im 14) but some othr people might know
Taylor1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2006, 11:44 PM   #3
karmafilm2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Right-Clicking Mousepad

Thanks, Taylor. Have fun with your computer stuff!
__________________
karmafilm
karmafilm2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2006, 02:42 AM   #4
Ex-Vin
Registered User
 
Ex-Vin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: California
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

On standard Mac mice you can't right click. There is simply on large mouse button. There are mice available for the Mac that have multiple buttons, but most aren't too cheap. Here's one: Mighty Mouse

Hope that helped...
Ex-Vin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2006, 02:50 AM   #5
karmafilm2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Right Click with Mac

Thanks for the info. Googled this question, and other forums say that you hold down the <control> key and click. I think maybe that only works for the native Mac software and OSX. Most definitely not for Maya.

Anyway, just clicked "purchase" for the new Wacom Bluetooth Tablet. If anyone's interested, the best price I could find for the tablet (comes in only 6x8) was at TigerDirect for $199 (US.)

Thanks once again.
__________________
karmafilm
karmafilm2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2006, 03:24 AM   #6
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

You can set Maya for OS X to use a single mouse button with modifier keys. It's in the preferences.
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2006, 03:56 AM   #7
Shadeblade
Registered User
 
Shadeblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 779
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Hold alt(or apple) and click the button. If it's not that one, it's the one next to it. I'm not in front of a mac right now, so I forgot where they're placed.
__________________
Nobody felt like avenging your death. Sorry.
Shadeblade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2006, 07:48 AM   #8
DJbLAZER
Registered User
 
DJbLAZER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 1,318
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

This is a great W.I.P. indeed.
DJbLAZER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2006, 04:12 PM   #9
karmafilm2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well, none of the regular modifier buttons and a mouse-click actually work in Maya.

I tried to figure out how to set the Modifier keys, but I couldn't get it to do the "Right Click." Looked through what I think is ALL the modifiers, and checked the help sections. Hmmm....

Also, what's a "W.I.P.?"
__________________
karmafilm
karmafilm2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2006, 04:38 PM   #10
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJbLAZER
This is a great W.I.P. indeed.
Might be if he can get the right mouse button going, LOL!!
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2006, 05:12 PM   #11
karmafilm2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Talking

Ouch.
__________________
karmafilm
karmafilm2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2006, 05:19 PM   #12
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Sorry man, you should have out this threaf in the New and basics forum
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2006, 05:26 PM   #13
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Look in Maya's Preferences. There is an option to configure Maya to recognize a single mouse button with modifier keys. This is only available in Maya for OS X.

Edit: Moved this thread to the Basics and Newbie forum.
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2006, 06:06 PM   #14
Shadeblade
Registered User
 
Shadeblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 779
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Shadeblade
Hold alt(or apple) and click the button. If it's not that one, it's the one next to it. I'm not in front of a mac right now, so I forgot where they're placed.
It's control, not alt.
__________________
Nobody felt like avenging your death. Sorry.
Shadeblade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2006, 05:51 PM   #15
karmafilm2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Sorry, I thought I started this thread in The Newbie section. That's the problem with Newbies: We don't know what the hell we're doing!

I catch on quick, I swear.

Tablet comes tomorrow. Won't be an issue any more after that, I suppose....
__________________
karmafilm
karmafilm2 is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.