SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / maya personal learning edition
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-04-2007, 01:17 AM   #1
aeb
Registered User
 
aeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: south yorkshire
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default maya personal learning edition

hi!. im new to maya (just started today) and iv been trying to work through the modeling a basic human video tutorial from this site. without a huge amount success

i applied a material to the plane in the perspective view and pressed 6 to see it as a reference image

then when i later switched to front view the plane was white with no identifiable image

i re-applied the image to the plane in front view and it worked! but when i went back to the perspective view the plane was textured with the "maya personal learning edition" logo. :headbang:

im also finding the interface awkward i keep having to go to preferences to reset the windows every 5 minutes

im also having problems using hull to scale an opening in a nurbs sphere. instead of shrinking the opening when i scale it it seems to drag it into the centre of the object.

allthough im new to maya i have a small amount of experience in max.

does anyone know where i could be going wrong so far.. or of a tutorial thats really great for an absolute beginner who seems to get everything wrong lol

and another question would is the interface anyway restricted in the learning edition? perhaps this could be a problem.


thanks allot
__________________
thanks
aeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 01:52 AM   #2
Weyu
Registered User
 
Weyu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 482
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 3 Posts
Default

First of all, you cant remove that Maya logo unless you buy the retail version. It is to keep you from selling your work.

PS. the logo is just there on the shaded settings i think.

Your views can have different settings, wired, shaded etc. so that might be the problem.

I dont think the interface is somewhat changed in the PLE, it just takes a time to get used to it, but it feels really comfortable when you get ahold of it, trust me.

I recomend that you try to have some fun with the software and feel comfortable with the interface before you start doing some advances tutorials.

I recomend Simply maya and Digital tutors if you need some good step by step tutorials.

I hope I've been to some help, the best of luck to you!
Weyu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 02:30 AM   #3
Perfecto
Registered User
 
Perfecto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: TN (USA)
Posts: 1,882
Thanks: 8
Thanked 127 Times in 119 Posts
Default

aeb, you've got guts. Way to just dive right in. Don't ever loose that drive and determination.

I agree with Weyu about getting used to the software first. I suggest opening the help file (at the top right of your screen). Or, I think you can hit F1. Search for the basic tutorials and go through them, they are great for getting you used to the basics. I went through them all in less than two days. Then start the tuts here on Simply Maya. I think it will make things a little easier for you.

We look forward to seeing you learn & grow with us.
__________________
Don't be satisfied with what you can do but rather strive to do the things you can't do!
Exceed Expectations!
Perfecto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 04:36 PM   #4
aeb
Registered User
 
aeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: south yorkshire
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default thanks

hey guys thanks for the responce and encouragement .

i think i was just having allot of problems at the same time lol

iv solved or got round most of them now and i think im gonna keep working my way through this tutorial even if i am going really slowly.

il let you know if i get anymore big problems and ost a pic when iv finished.
__________________
thanks
aeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 05:05 PM   #5
Weyu
Registered User
 
Weyu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 482
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 3 Posts
Default

You should learn how to modell with polygons, I personly only use Nurbs for creating simple things like eyes and such, you got alot more control over polygons.

If you are going to continue using Nurbs to create objects you should try messing around with Isoparms.

And there is a really nice beginner tutorial by Digital tutors about the interface and where they also created a object using nurbs, it costs a bit, if you want tutorials for free/cheaper look at this site.

Polygons 4-ever! :p
Weyu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2007, 04:54 AM   #6
aeb
Registered User
 
aeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: south yorkshire
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

haha yeah i like polygons2 .. infact iv worked pretty much only with polygons in 3ds max so this is new to me..

maya keeps crashing on me at the moment.. sometimes its everytime i perform an action it freezes for a few seconds.. hmm :/
__________________
thanks
aeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2007, 10:42 AM   #7
Weyu
Registered User
 
Weyu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 482
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Yeah I also get that problem sometimes when I'm working with large object, a solution to that problem would be tremendous.

And mayby a pic of how far you've gotten with the tutorial?
Weyu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2007, 11:24 AM   #8
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

What PLE Verison are you using and on wot OS?

Maya 8 and 8.5 for the Mac are quite buggy and do result in crashes. Also what specs is your PC. Maya can be a bit fussy if you are not using the correct hardware.

Just save, save, save, save, save, save, save, save, save and save some more.
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2007, 11:54 PM   #9
Frontierz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

a have also the same problem i m also new in this field and facing huge problems in maya.
Frontierz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2007, 06:19 AM   #10
aeb
Registered User
 
aeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: south yorkshire
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default arghhhhh

ok well i had another go today and its really hopeless there must be some kind of technical problem because all i have in my scene is 1 nurbs sphere and a textured plane.

it seems to run ok for a while then starts to crash when i try and do anything like scale an object adjust view port size etc.

my system is intel dualcore 1.86ghz(*2)
2gb ram
windows xp

and im running maya 7.0 PLE

if anyone else has experienced this and knows if theres a solution thatd be great.

do you think i could have got the 32 bit instead of 64 or vice versa? (just guesing here)

thanks

edit: i had a try with polygons and made this

http://i174.photobucket.com/albums/w...mallercopy.jpg

unfortunately i did this with max hehe

ok another edit: now an error message is coming up saying runtime error and some problem with C++ then maya closes.. im thinking maybe i should just download it again and re install it.
__________________
thanks

Last edited by aeb : 07-04-2007 at 01:06 PM.
aeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 12:30 AM   #11
aeb
Registered User
 
aeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: south yorkshire
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default :)

hello chaps.

i finally got the problem sorted. i just deleted maya. downloaded it again and then installed it again. not sure what could have been causing it

anyway iv been at that tutorial again and been making some progress.

this is a render straight out of maya



and i also did an animation but unfortunately i couldnt figure out how to render it or render wireframe so i just did a screen capture

__________________
thanks
aeb is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 12:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 10:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 08:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 10:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 02:45 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.