SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lighting & Rendering, Dynamics & Effects, Texturing / Lighting & Rendering / Does anyone know how to render with command prompt?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 28-08-2008, 09:38 PM   #1
tvholicjames
Subscriber
 
tvholicjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 188
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Does anyone know how to render with command prompt?

Hi,

The presets in the render layer didn't work in heavy scenes, so I manually turned off "emit spec" and shadows in all lights, then I went through all the geometries and turned off "cast shadow and received shadows". And when I batch render that diffuse layer for just 1 frame, it only batch render 80%.

So I clicked on the maya file node after I set everything up and this is what I got as you can see in the picture. And I get the same result if I did use the presets of the diffuse layer.

I tried the command prompt tutorial from digital tutors, but I kept getting errors like internal and external errors.

I am trying to render from the D drive, in mentalray for 200 frames in targa. But I kept getting errors.

Please help. Thank you in advance.
Edit/Delete Message
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	brhouse-environmentprof_cop.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	75.0 KB
ID:	40068  
tvholicjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2008, 10:17 PM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

hmmm,

Have you tried just rightclicking the scene file and rendering from that?


It might have some thing blocking maya, such as your firewall or anti virus software?
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2008, 10:32 PM   #3
tvholicjames
Subscriber
 
tvholicjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 188
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

That is what I did. Why would a firewall blocked teh rendering?
tvholicjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2008, 10:33 PM   #4
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Maybe when maya's trying to access mantal ray to start it up??
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2008, 10:36 PM   #5
tvholicjames
Subscriber
 
tvholicjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 188
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

how do u render in command prompt then?
tvholicjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2008, 10:48 PM   #6
bendingiscool
Subscriber
 
bendingiscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: London
Posts: 567
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

TBH the command prompt rendering has worked for me on several scenes so it must be something to do with your scene.

What errors are you getting when you render in layers, leave maya open and see what errors come up in the script editor?

Chris
bendingiscool is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 06:04 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.