SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Technical Issues / Fatal error
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-10-2008, 07:26 AM   #1
Cigaro
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Fatal error

Hi i have just installed Maya 2008 and every time i try to open Maya i get this error 'Fatal Error . Attempting to save in C:/DOCUME~1/Shaun/LOCALS~1/Temp/Shaun.20081002.0206.ma i have had a look around bout turning of triple buffering in the graphics card settings i have deleted my prefs folder so maya makes a new one i have my latest graphics drivers using mobile intel 965 express chipset family im worryed as i start a course soon and need a copy of maya running before i start the course any solutions Please thank you
Cigaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2008, 07:38 PM   #2
publicFunction
Senior Software Developer
 
publicFunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Posts: 1,701
Thanks: 1
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Default

TBH...

Your Graphics card will not be up to the challenge, the intel chipset is not supported by the majority of the 3D apps out there.

Check out the Qualified Hardware List
__________________
Chris (formerly R@nSiD)
Twitter
When the power of love overcomes the love of power the world will truely know peace - Jimmy Hendrix
Winner SM VFX Challenge 1
3rd Place SM SteamPunk Challenge (May 2007)
publicFunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 02:45 AM   #3
The Architect
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 891
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Your graphics might not be for Maya, but the error isn't caused by it cause I've had it on my computer one day and it runs Maya fine.

I don't know how to fix it though, I haven't got round to reinstalling Windows (cause everything else failed).
__________________
C. P. U. Its not a big processor... Its a series of pipes!
The Architect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 07:39 AM   #4
NinjaTronix
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Fatal Error

I have a Mobile Intel(R) 4 Series Express Chipset Family graphics card and after 3 month of having the fatal error problem with maya at boot I finally out it was the graphics card. After trying multiple os's it worked all up until i found the last few drivers for the computer.

I began disabling them one by one and found out it was the graphics card. A work around for this problem is when you want to use maya go to your device manager and disable your graphics card driver and maya should work fine. If anything you could do this method just to see if it is the graphics card.

Can someone tell me if disabling the graphics card effects renders?

Anyways I'ma look into the problem a bit more, maybe someone found something on it recently. I spent weeks a few months ago online searching for a solution, but found nothing so this little workaround I came up with might be useful to quite a few people.
NinjaTronix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2009, 07:12 AM   #5
effacer
Registered User
 
effacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kathmandu, Nepal
Posts: 108
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

with 'Mobile Intel(R) 4 Series Express Chipset' i guess u are referring to the inbuilt graphics card, aren't you? i am having the same prob with Maya while it loaded and i can't open the software. i know it is graphics card coz when i installed the display adapter (with old board's CD, not mine) Maya started to act normally, but if i installed the default graphics driver card, then maya won't run!!!!! disabling graphics card isn't feasible coz i've got a widescreen and on doing that, the screen becomes really small. i've tried formatting the OS multiple times and have used Vista Black edition and also complete edition (i'm using the later one now)
for now, i'm using old graphics driver to use Maya... but it s*cks, u know

anyone,..... any help?
effacer is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 10:27 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.