SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Modeling / Modeling / corrupt geometry
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 22-08-2009, 10:44 AM   #1
der_lutz
Registered User
 
der_lutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: germany, nürnberg
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default corrupt geometry

well, obviously nobody can help me with that UV transfer.
however i figured out that something might be wrong with the polygon geometry in the first place...

i tried to convert it back to a polygon object and for some reason the edges (in object mode) are dashed, as somehow 2 edges are in the same place.
when i pick some vertices and try to move them, something odd happens: the vertices seem to double, and i can only move what appeards to be some kind of hull but the shaded geometry itself won't change. WTH????
i added 2 pics, the first one is to show the edges, the second one to demonstrate the "doubled" vertices of whose i moved a few...

of course i tried to cleanup nonmanifold geometry, but nothing happened.

PLZ, that's not the first time this happens. the has to be a possibiliy to make this unhappen...

by the way... i upgraded to maya 2010 and same problem here!
der_lutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2009, 10:45 AM   #2
der_lutz
Registered User
 
der_lutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: germany, nürnberg
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default pic1

pic1
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	bild 20.png
Views:	177
Size:	184.6 KB
ID:	42870  
der_lutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2009, 10:49 AM   #3
der_lutz
Registered User
 
der_lutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: germany, nürnberg
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default pic2

pic2
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	bild 21.png
Views:	173
Size:	120.3 KB
ID:	42871  
der_lutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2009, 11:44 AM   #4
der_lutz
Registered User
 
der_lutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: germany, nürnberg
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default alright, problem solved

once again i found the problem. for any one who's interested:
i converted the sub-d geometry while still beeing in poly proxy mode.
converting from standard mode won't damage anything.

i just can't understand why maya doesn't warn me... maybe it's what we in germany call SCHADENFREUDE-
solong---


still got the uv transfer problem... isn't der any nerd who can solve this mystery?? :-)
__________________
maya 2010;
mac pro 4x2.66, 7GB RAM, ATI 1900XT, max osx 10.5.8
der_lutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2009, 01:05 PM   #5
Joopson
Registered User
 
Joopson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,313
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Default

Maybe try converting it bad to Sub-D and switching to standard mode, then converting back...
That works for me most of the time.
__________________
Environment Artist @ Plastic Piranha
www.joopson.com
Joopson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2009, 10:28 AM   #6
der_lutz
Registered User
 
der_lutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: germany, nürnberg
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default UV Transfer

yeah, i figured that out, too. i don't have that corrupt geometry problem anymore.
either way, my UV transfer crashes.

but i found something out:

i made a copy of my sub-d model and modified it to map the UVs. i also did "average vertices" and remodeled the legs to get primitive geometry (like cylinders) for mapping.

when i do average vertices on my original model as well (just for a test), at least the UVs of the head are transferred correctly.

i don't get it: in this tutorial, they said you can transform the geometry (that is, its copy) as long as you don't change the number of vertices, and that's exactly what the do the whole time...
i got the feeling, the transferred UVs are only correct, where the copied model is exactly the same as the original.

can somebody confirm this or correct me? is there any secret option box like "keep UVs in world/local space"?
__________________
maya 2010;
mac pro 4x2.66, 7GB RAM, ATI 1900XT, max osx 10.5.8
der_lutz is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.