SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Maya FBX Importing
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 13-04-2010, 12:50 PM   #1
SwordOfValor
Registered User
 
SwordOfValor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Maya FBX Importing

My problem basicly is that when I try to import using FBX from Mudbox to Maya, Maya freezes.
My model is a plane with 1,400,000 Poly's(A flat one sided surface not a flying machine haha)
It's of a snow hill area with rocks.
One bump map and one for the texture.

I have Windows 7 64 bit
8 gigs of Ram
Fire GL 8650
Amd Phenom II 965 Black Edition
750 Gig Harddrive

There's no lag at all in Mudbox, it runs amazing smooth.
SwordOfValor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2010, 01:31 PM   #2
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
Thanks: 101
Thanked 952 Times in 879 Posts
Default

Hi SwordOfValor
Have you tried a low poly model with a normal map or displacement map like you can do in zbrush.............dave
__________________


Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
daverave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2010, 01:40 PM   #3
SwordOfValor
Registered User
 
SwordOfValor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Nope. Haven't tried that yet dave.
__________________
Windows 7 64-bit
AMD Phenom II 965 BE
Fire GL 8650
8 Gigabytes of Ram
SwordOfValor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2010, 12:17 AM   #4
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,996
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default

That is a boat load of poly's. The idea of using mudbox and maya is to ship a base mesh to mudbox, subdivide to a gazillion poly's then sculpt, and then create a normal map, and send that back to maya and apply it to the base mesh.

That being said, I have built models in maya with over 2 million poly's and that was with my 2GB of memory system so you should be able to handle 1.4M poly's.
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2010, 01:17 AM   #5
SwordOfValor
Registered User
 
SwordOfValor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ohhh, you did the 2 mil poly's with a normal map or like how I'm doing it?

I used one of the pre-made planes that came with mudbox to make this cliff, could that be a problem or maybe it's a windows 7 compatibility problem?
__________________
Windows 7 64-bit
AMD Phenom II 965 BE
Fire GL 8650
8 Gigabytes of Ram

Last edited by SwordOfValor : 14-04-2010 at 01:20 AM.
SwordOfValor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2010, 02:30 AM   #6
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,996
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default

You might want to try importing a smaller model back into maya just to rule out the poly count issue.

I don't really use mudbox or zbrush for modeling as they are for organic modelers that are more artistic sculptors. I focus more on hard surface technical modeling.
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2010, 04:00 AM   #7
SwordOfValor
Registered User
 
SwordOfValor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yeh, so I imported a smaller model and it imported quite fast and easy. What shall I do?
__________________
Windows 7 64-bit
AMD Phenom II 965 BE
Fire GL 8650
8 Gigabytes of Ram
SwordOfValor is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 12:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 10:27 AM
Importing Renders to AE Ozgalis Dynamics & Special Effects 1 08-12-2010 08:56 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 10:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 02:45 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.