SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Does Maya have a "Slice Selected" equivalent from Modo for splitting edge loops?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 23-04-2010, 11:58 PM   #1
Megatron2.0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Does Maya have a "Slice Selected" equivalent to Modo splitting edge loops?

Hi SimplyMaya community,

I am relatively new to Maya and looking for Modo similar controls. I am simply trying to select multiple edges for a shoulder loop on my Maya model running across the chest up over shoulder and then across the back. In Modo I would select all necessary adjacent edges > Select Loop Slice > and then check "Slice Selected."

I don't believe the Insert Edge Loop and Split Polygon Tool offer the freedom I require for this since it is not a standard loop running around a sphere. It travels in the direction of a shoulder pad.

I have recently discovered that running the polySplitRing in the command line essentially solves my problem but I was wondering if this option is available beyond the command line. If not, could someone help a poor noob like myself with mapping a hotkey for polySplitRing? I seem to have trouble locating this command in the hotkey editor as well.

Thanks in advance for the support!
-Eric

Last edited by Megatron2.0 : 24-04-2010 at 09:17 PM.
Megatron2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2010, 01:14 AM   #2
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

Hi mate,

Im newer than a noob but here you go for the hotkey

I assigned a key just to check I had the right thing you were looking for. Hope this pre noob has helped.

cheers bullet
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	polyringsplit.jpg
Views:	243
Size:	146.0 KB
ID:	44109  
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2010, 09:45 AM   #3
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,276
Thanks: 41
Thanked 428 Times in 384 Posts
Default

Can you post up an image of said shoulder pad and hilite the way you want to run a loop split please. because if these arent working for you then your loops are quite loops IMO.

cheers
Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2010, 10:09 AM   #4
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

Hey Jay,

wouldnt you just use cut faces on the angle you wanted from front view??? I thought about that later on. Easier than mucking around poly by poly? Thats if it is planar of course.

cheers bullet
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2010, 01:46 PM   #5
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,276
Thanks: 41
Thanked 428 Times in 384 Posts
Default

Hey Bullet

yeah you could, but the impression I get here is that he wants it to loop properly without any fuss. Maya's edge ring tool should work fine if the loops are in reasonable shape so to speak. And even cutting them with the split poly tool wont hurt.

cheers
Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2010, 02:05 PM   #6
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

cool as man,

I would go the easy option with the cut face tool (Im lazy), then copy the faces I want to keep (or hide them). Then delete edges, though I suppose you may as well use as you say the split poly tool. I tried what he meant but all it did was create poly lines centrally on the face etc, you know more than I do so I will say that is from me amigos.

PS Jay I think he meant diagonal?? from the right hip across the left shoulder down the spine back to the right hip rear??? I could have read it wrong.

cheers bullet
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes

Last edited by bullet1968 : 24-04-2010 at 02:08 PM.
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2010, 06:59 PM   #7
Megatron2.0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes, my mistake. A picture would have really simplified matters. Thanks for all the replies so far, as I seem to be making headway in understanding this simple issue. Here is an extremely basic example I whipped for the post.

Thanks again!

_______________

http://www.epochat.weebly.com

http://www.flickr.com/photos/49619455@N06/4548218903/
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	shoulderloop.jpg
Views:	215
Size:	110.7 KB
ID:	44112  

Last edited by Megatron2.0 : 24-04-2010 at 07:02 PM.
Megatron2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2010, 07:12 PM   #8
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,373
Thanks: 74
Thanked 710 Times in 642 Posts
Default

In this case I think (though I'm a relative newbie too) the best bet would be to use a combo of insert edge loop and split poly. Insert edge loop has options to do a partial insert (or sometimes if it doesn't know where to go, e.g. tris, it'll just stop there). Then finish up the loop with split poly. Hope that helps.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2010, 07:17 PM   #9
Megatron2.0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hey Stwert, thanks for the response.

In actually the splitPolyRing command does exactly what I need after selecting the corresponding edge loops running over the shoulder. But I was wondering if this option could be found somewhere in the UI because I only know of this feature as a command line. If not, then I suppose a hotkey will do until Maya officially adds this as a tool because it VERY handy.

_______________

http://www.epochat.weebly.com

http://www.flickr.com/photos/49619455@N06/4548218903/
Megatron2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2010, 01:53 AM   #10
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

Did you find the hotkey address from my pic mate?? was a pain to find as its noy named properly.

cheers bullet


here is something that might help, you can add a MEL script to the shelf apparently (I know nothing about scripting, sorry).


http://caad.arch.ethz.ch/info/maya/m...fm.html#251636
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes

Last edited by bullet1968 : 25-04-2010 at 02:00 AM.
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 12:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 10:27 AM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 10:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 02:45 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.