SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Will Nvidia Quadro speed up mental ray?
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-05-2010, 03:43 PM   #1
nectario
Registered User
 
nectario's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Will Nvidia Quadro speed up mental ray?

Hi,

I am thinking of buying an Nvidia Quadro 5800 card (or later model if released). So I was wondering, will this card speed up my mental ray renderings? Is it worth the extra $$$? I have a dual quad core Xeon machine and was wondering how much more increase would I get. Please note, I want *mental ray* hardware accelaration not the Maya renderer.

Thanks!

-N.
nectario is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 04:29 PM   #2
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,373
Thanks: 74
Thanked 710 Times in 642 Posts
Default

At this point I don't think mental ray uses the GPU for rendering (someone correct me if this has changed) so getting a different card won't change your render times at all.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 05:22 PM   #3
leonlabyk
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hastings UK
Posts: 890
Thanks: 1
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default

I also dont think these will have any or very little effect on your render time with mental ray. There will be much better performance in the viewport and maya will not slug if you are working with heavy polycounts. I think the main enhancement is if you are rendering with gelato which I believe is a nvdia render. If you use gelato for rendering then you will experience much faster render times but you will then have to learn how to render with gelato.
leonlabyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 05:25 PM   #4
leonlabyk
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hastings UK
Posts: 890
Thanks: 1
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default

some stuff here about it.
Hope it helps

http://www.nvidia.com/object/io_1212045140642.html
leonlabyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 05:47 PM   #5
nectario
Registered User
 
nectario's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

That sucks. So if I buy a new computer with the latest Xeons (dual) how much faster will mental ray be compared with what I have now (dual penryn Xeon X5482)? I just want to see if the upgrade is worth it.

Thanks,

-Nektarios
nectario is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 06:34 PM   #6
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,373
Thanks: 74
Thanked 710 Times in 642 Posts
Default

I don't know how much faster they will be... if an upgrade won't change the number of cores, and the clockspeeds are about the same, I'd say not much.
Is it worth it? The real question is, how big is your wallet, and how precious is your time? Only you can answer that.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 06:38 PM   #7
nectario
Registered User
 
nectario's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

My budget is about $8000 (maybe $9000). I don't want to wait four months to render a super high quality five min animation. I'd like to cut this to two weeks if possible. How can I do this?

Thanks,

-N.
nectario is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 06:41 PM   #8
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,373
Thanks: 74
Thanked 710 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Couple options spring to mind... there are commercial render farms that you can upload your animation to, and they will render it quickly at a price.
Or you could try to set up your own render farm... $8000 could go a long way in building, say 8 barebones rendering machines that you could network together and distribute the rendering via backburner. Is this a one-time deal, or will you be doing a ton of rendering over the next few years?
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 06:44 PM   #9
nectario
Registered User
 
nectario's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'll be doing a tone of rendering over the next few years. I can't seem to wait for each frame to render in about an hour. I'm too impatient... :-)
nectario is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 08:15 PM   #10
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

you could just try optimising your scene... i guess that would be the cheapest option. (if you haven't done this already)
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 08:30 PM   #11
nectario
Registered User
 
nectario's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Now this looks fast!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ianMNs12ITc

I like the window with the 32 cores on display... :-)
nectario is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 08:56 PM   #12
murambi
Head of 3d Admedia
 
murambi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: nairobi , ken-ya
Posts: 1,329
Thanks: 21
Thanked 129 Times in 128 Posts
Default

8000 dollars can get you a pretty good assembled hard ware what you want is to have one modelling pc and a rendering pc. It already seems you have a modelling machine so i would suggest getting a pc with the new core i7 processors they are about 999 usd .And processing power is what you want for mental ray
murambi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 06:44 AM   #13
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Yeah processing power is what you need not graphics.

For the money I would probably opt for about 3-4 less powerful machines and then create a render farm from them to speed up the rendering, keeping your main machine for modelling and test renders
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 08:46 AM   #14
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,276
Thanks: 41
Thanked 428 Times in 384 Posts
Default

No you need good processor power (quads) and feck loads of RAM!

But also you are better off buying Renderman and extra ram for the money of a new machine - RMan wont give you any bullshit. Mental Ray calculates every model into tris before it even squeaks, even then it dies of prematurely ejaculated calculation time and throws you up an error, saying 'oops sorry got any tissues' wheres as RMan doesnt get bogged down with that type of thing.

Cheers
Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 10:18 AM   #15
leonlabyk
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hastings UK
Posts: 890
Thanks: 1
Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts
Default

Worked on a job in London recently and the other dude there was saying about how much better renderman is. I think he was saying something about you having to model in quads as it does not like tris though. It is really the standard to model everything as quads but guess this might cause problems for some.

Will have to give the trial a go at some point.
leonlabyk is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.