SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Trim & Fillet problems
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 15-05-2010, 07:36 PM   #1
Joey81
Subscriber
 
Joey81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 242
Thanks: 2
Thanked 30 Times in 29 Posts
Question Trim & Fillet problems

Hey Everyone!

I saw some vids about surface fillet (fillet blend tool). I tried it all afternoon but does not want to work properly.

The plan was to make a button
1: put a closed curvature with > projected curves on surface
2: trim it out
3: Using the curvature i tried to make a surface for the button....


Problems:
is it normal that maya 2009 64bit made false picture in perspective ? but at rendering it looks alright... (on the upper pictures)



after i made a fillet it does not look good anywhere
(bottom pictures)

any nice idea?

cheers

joe
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	fillet2.jpg
Views:	225
Size:	152.7 KB
ID:	44188  
Joey81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2010, 10:41 PM   #2
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

That first picture is just all black joey, cant see anything other than the curve line.

Im a newbie too and Im not quite sure what you are trying to acheive? I assume by the pics they are polygons? not nurbs? Are you trying to get an 'insert' hole/edge in there?? If you are I would either make some edge loops (you can delete the overburden), splitpoly tool and use extrusions to get what you want. Then you can make a 'crap' later and test the tool you are using. If I have trouble with new tools I do it the 'old' way to get my model going and try the new tool on a simple cube/sphere in a test job.

Booleans work too, though they also can be fickle. Sometimes I throw the curve tools out the window and just use edge loops and split poly to get my result, then just delete the suff I didnt want after. Sometimes its actually quicker this way, leaves you time to model. When you have a cup of tea while modelling I go to testing my tools on simple shapes in another 'test' job. Hope I helped and didnt confuse.

cheers bullet
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes

Last edited by bullet1968 : 15-05-2010 at 10:50 PM.
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2010, 10:52 PM   #3
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

apologies joey you are on nurbs, good luck LOL, you can keep em mate, give me poly any day.


After my error I found this joey, its Maya 7 but they are the same


http://books.google.com.au/books?id=...page&q&f=false

If you have time have a quick read it may help
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes

Last edited by bullet1968 : 15-05-2010 at 10:58 PM.
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2010, 10:59 PM   #4
Joey81
Subscriber
 
Joey81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 242
Thanks: 2
Thanked 30 Times in 29 Posts
Default

okey. you see...
i ll try in poly... i was so angry after 2-3hours...... try & try & try...

i ve tried it on a simply object too. i thought i understand how it works
Actually on the first picture the black part >>> its trimmed out part. you can see on the right edge where the circle part re.
The program trimmed ouit very-very imprecisely

btw

thanks for your comment
Joey81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2010, 11:11 PM   #5
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

mate,

welcome to the world of modelling LOL

I tried for 6hours!!!! on this keyhole to get a boolean to work! Then discovered (by trial and error) that putting split poly across the face it worked!!

Are both the shapes nurbs?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	keyhole.jpg
Views:	211
Size:	109.2 KB
ID:	44190  
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2010, 11:17 PM   #6
Joey81
Subscriber
 
Joey81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 242
Thanks: 2
Thanked 30 Times in 29 Posts
Default

i read just a few hour ago that you ve to make a crossing line before boolean funny

sure the 2object re nurbs

i just dont understand why cant it trim out a proper way & after fill it the same way too..

i think a lot times its easier to find alternatives than standing on a problem maybe you cant solve it & the time passes
Joey81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2010, 11:28 PM   #7
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

Im an Engineering Surveyor mate and use a lot of software to do my job. I have found that sitting on a problem gets me introuble, so you are right!! Find an alternative for now and move on, then go back to it later. I have found that when I end up doing other things, UV mapping, modeeling a different section etc I 'find' my solution to the original problem The more you use it you will find by accident shortcuts etc. DONT give up on it though, keep it up and dont get mad or depressed like I do...LOL.

I dont use nurbs much so sorry I couldnt help more. You can use the curve tool on a live surface in poly, then modify to poly, then boolean dude. Thats how I get around it, there are a thousand ways to skin the cat mate.
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2010, 11:38 PM   #8
Joey81
Subscriber
 
Joey81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 242
Thanks: 2
Thanked 30 Times in 29 Posts
Default

I feel the same. just as you wrote. I use only poly & subd... never nurbs. I just found a new faster possibility, what s not working..

We got 2 little cats. Want one ?

now i really go to sleep its 1:40 am...


Ciaoo
Joey81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2010, 12:29 AM   #9
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

My wife and kids have 3 cats, I will skin one of them for you. Then I have one less to feed LOL.....
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2010, 04:04 PM   #10
Joey81
Subscriber
 
Joey81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 242
Thanks: 2
Thanked 30 Times in 29 Posts
Default

hey!

Which program do you use to make video? I mean not to video editing! >> to make 1second video of 25 rendered picture (or more).

cheers

joey
Joey81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2010, 04:16 PM   #11
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,373
Thanks: 74
Thanked 710 Times in 642 Posts
Default

A free program is virtualdub, and it even handles .iff images.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2010, 04:20 PM   #12
Joey81
Subscriber
 
Joey81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 242
Thanks: 2
Thanked 30 Times in 29 Posts
Default

i try it
thanks :bandit:
Joey81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2010, 04:56 PM   #13
Joey81
Subscriber
 
Joey81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 242
Thanks: 2
Thanked 30 Times in 29 Posts
Default

it works well, thanks.
Why does the left picture have "circles" around the car. Is the framerate too less or i made some mistakes ? I tried to make it in hd quality.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	cad_back.jpg
Views:	192
Size:	35.0 KB
ID:	44228  

Last edited by Joey81 : 26-05-2010 at 05:02 PM.
Joey81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2010, 05:03 PM   #14
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,373
Thanks: 74
Thanked 710 Times in 642 Posts
Default

I'm not sure... are you using any avi compression? One workflow I've used is to create completely uncompressed avis, (huge files) then edit them together and render out using a video editing program. Might get better results, I don't know.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2010, 05:07 PM   #15
Joey81
Subscriber
 
Joey81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 242
Thanks: 2
Thanked 30 Times in 29 Posts
Default

yes. i tried two types of compressiod. One messed up with the colors... The file was like 1GB & 16or 256 colors
The other made this.

Now i try the NON-compressed. 1.8GB (6second) but it looks good... when it try to moves

thanks. i try to make some compression with Super
Joey81 is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.