SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / polygon to subdiv
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 20-08-2010, 11:26 AM   #1
chilledoutredhead
rm3d
 
chilledoutredhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: northern ireland
Posts: 184
Thanks: 8
Thanked 31 Times in 29 Posts
Default polygon to subdiv

hi guys im working on a model, and im regularly switching between polygon and subdiv, but every so often ill change something on the polygon model (add a few edges or delete some unnecessary ones) and itll stop converting into a subdiv, everytime i try to change it, it will say result 0, i can still apply a smooth but its no subdiv.

anyone know what causes this? and if there is a solution?
__________________
the more I Think I know about Maya the less I seem to know about it.

check me out www.rm3d.co.uk
chilledoutredhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2010, 05:14 PM   #2
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Hi Chilled,

It's been a while singe I've used the poly-subD route for modelling. As far as I can remember you get strange non converting results with non manifolds and tris I.E non quads. The history may also build up and cause problems depening on the changes.

Personally I would now advise using purely polys and using the smooth mesh preview for smoother iterations of the model for previewing the smooth poly (as I'm sure thats what your going to render in)

Jays the best for sub-d's as he knows the whole shizazle when it comes to modeling, NURBS, Polys and Subs.

Cheers

Steve
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2010, 10:13 PM   #3
chilledoutredhead
rm3d
 
chilledoutredhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: northern ireland
Posts: 184
Thanks: 8
Thanked 31 Times in 29 Posts
Default

thanks for the advice .
i have to admit im following a tutorial thats why im converting to sub div, of course the tutorial guy never has this problem. lol
yea your right about the smoothing thing, thats how the finished model will be rendered, just using the sub div to push and pull a few things.
__________________
the more I Think I know about Maya the less I seem to know about it.

check me out www.rm3d.co.uk
chilledoutredhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2010, 02:35 PM   #4
Jay
Lead Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,276
Thanks: 41
Thanked 428 Times in 384 Posts
Default

Thanks Steve

Yeah Subds have their little probs in the convert every so often.

I take it from what you're saying its purely in the switching to and from the SD surface.

Usually its a build up of history on the sub-D surface which is basically called blind data. These nodes do have their uses but in modelling they can cause a bit of trouble. To get rid of them simply go to the hypergraph with the model selected and graph the up and downstream connections. This will show you all the nodes attached to the geometry, from the actual shape node right down to any history.

If there are any blind data nodes visible, delete them. But make sure you have deleted all the history too on the model otherwise it may not work. Hopefully this is the problem and you should now be able to carry on. Also be aware that sometimes the model may just seem to disappear, this is one of Mayas little quirks, so simply check the Outliner and make sure its all there, select the model and re-apply a shader to it.

Another prob with conversions to sd's can be points that may not be merged or left over from a deleted edge or an edit. Run a cleanup from the Poly menu set, anything that is wrong will get hilighted.

Lastly, Ive not used Subds for a while since the intro of the 3 key command to convert to a smooth poly. Its just as good as good if not better as subds can become heavy once you start placing those level edits on them, so bear that in mind, and also texturing needs more attention because of the smoothing algorythm place on them too.



hope this helps
Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2010, 05:30 PM   #5
chilledoutredhead
rm3d
 
chilledoutredhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: northern ireland
Posts: 184
Thanks: 8
Thanked 31 Times in 29 Posts
Default

yea that is a great help, i was just gonna ask if it is better to use poly smooth, i have to admit not having to switch to subdiv could be nice
__________________
the more I Think I know about Maya the less I seem to know about it.

check me out www.rm3d.co.uk
chilledoutredhead is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.