SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Maya 2011 : Vertex selection dismay!
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 28-10-2010, 07:39 PM   #16
moosenoodles
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

Interesting, will try this in a few mins ..

edit: Nope not working, select glass poly, vertex, grab points, all fine.. shift select frame poly, frame highlights green you now have to select vertex points mode again, but cant holding down shift as that gives u diff options. So once in vertex mode hold shift select the frames points and oh the previous glass poly points deselect lol..

I cant win its silly it should just grab all visible verti's it just doesnt here... beyond, me never ever had this problem before..

Last edited by moosenoodles : 28-10-2010 at 07:47 PM.
moosenoodles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2010, 07:51 PM   #17
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,373
Thanks: 74
Thanked 710 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Can you use F8 to go into component mode?
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2010, 07:54 PM   #18
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,472
Thanks: 101
Thanked 952 Times in 879 Posts
Default

Sorry look at my last post
__________________


Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
daverave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2010, 07:58 PM   #19
moosenoodles
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by stwert
Can you use F8 to go into component mode?
yeah you can stwert, but that just again F8 not with shift selected as that wouldnt produce any change in mode.
moosenoodles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2010, 08:00 PM   #20
moosenoodles
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by daverave
Sorry look at my last post
Yeah thats fine dave, Its the way I "always" have done it lol till now, its not working period and I just cant fathom it..

if I was more upto speed with doing screen vid grabs id do one, but this is so beyond my comprehension why its still droping the first selected verti's its getting laughable

hehe oh well soldier on eh..
moosenoodles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2010, 08:06 PM   #21
moosenoodles
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Wow im shocked, well how about this lol,

After thinking of what stwert said I thought what if i select both parts first then hit F8 instead of using menus etc to do it. It worked lol, i could highlight/grab all verts in both parts instantly no shift held..

Now why in hecks name does that work but not the way ive used it for eons lol.. its goto be some glitch "I" have on 2011? I will have to recheck bug fixes if there are any again..

So whats your views why F8 works with both selected parts and not using clicky pen doofus normal way ive always done and right click menus

sigh..
moosenoodles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2010, 08:08 PM   #22
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,373
Thanks: 74
Thanked 710 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Couldn't really say for sure... it is a bit of a weird setup. Component mode (F8) seems to be slightly different than the RMB component selection. E.g. If you RMB to vertices, you'll have to hit F8 twice to get back to object mode. Once to really go into component mode and once to get back to object. I wonder if it's something like a local and global effect. Anyway, hope that's working for you now. It's really an odd thing.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2010, 08:13 PM   #23
moosenoodles
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by stwert
Couldn't really say for sure... it is a bit of a weird setup. Component mode (F8) seems to be slightly different than the RMB component selection. E.g. If you RMB to vertices, you'll have to hit F8 twice to get back to object mode. Once to really go into component mode and once to get back to object. I wonder if it's something like a local and global effect. Anyway, hope that's working for you now. It's really an odd thing.
Yeah think ill hotkey F8 to something closer on fingies lol, oh joy just done a window set in 15 seconds compared to 15 mins messing about

Thanks for all your help, I will surely take a gander at the RMB vert option gen, or do some googling see if its been mentioned elsewhere..

Thanks for all your time, your all most helpful here..

James..

Last edited by moosenoodles : 28-10-2010 at 09:30 PM.
moosenoodles is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Moderators on Simply Maya Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 21 17-05-2011 12:24 AM
Maya Hair/Polygon Error ingram_no.7 Members Lounge 13 10-12-2010 10:27 AM
Simply Maya Resources Online Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 1 08-12-2010 08:36 PM
LayoutTools for Maya 2011 is here... ctbram Members Lounge 1 06-12-2010 10:32 PM
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 02:45 AM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.