SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 28-12-2010, 03:46 PM   #1
gaboraa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Selection sets?

Hi folks!

I'm a Softimage and Cinema 4d user and I'm relatively new to Maya. I will give all of you some headaches with my newbie questions so sorry for this

In softimage there is feature called cluster matarial for multi texturing a mesh's desired parts. In short, select some polygons and drag and drop a matarial into this polygon selection and you have a cluster matarial.
I excatly can do this in Maya and everyting is ok from here but how can I see what matarial assigned to what polygon selection later on? How can I reselect this polygon selection again?

Any advice is greatly appreciated

Thanks
gaboraa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2010, 04:16 PM   #2
maheshsubbiah
Registered User
 
maheshsubbiah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: India
Posts: 145
Thanks: 2
Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts
Default

Hey gaboraa,

If i undestood your problem correctly, Right click on the material in hypershade and select 'Select objects with material'. All the polygons with that material should get selected.

Mahesh
maheshsubbiah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2010, 07:35 PM   #3
Ozgalis
Events Team at Wargaming.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Crystal Lake, Illinois
Posts: 484
Thanks: 8
Thanked 74 Times in 69 Posts
Default

Hey gaboraa, there is also another option to your question.

After you have all the faces selected on your mesh that you want to give that "certain" material goto Create > Sets > Quick Select Set. This will add all of those faces to this particular set, to go back and grab it just goto Edit > Quick Select Sets > then your set will be in there...it will be what ever you named it.

As far as I know you can make as many sets as you want, but I have never made more than 3 so I am not sure.
Ozgalis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2010, 01:04 PM   #4
gaboraa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you for all these extremely helpful answers. "Select objects with material" has done the trick. When you select objects with matarial, it automatically selects the polygon selection that was assign to this matarial.
Thanks again for your help and time.
gaboraa is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.