SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Vertices Duplicating
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 15-01-2011, 02:18 PM   #1
Vortexx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 35
Thanks: 2
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Default Vertices Duplicating

Hi guys,

We I start modeling with a plane, sometimes I get vertices that are duplicating on top of each other, this creates a big mess, does anyone know why this happens?

Regards,
Vort
Vortexx is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Vortexx For This Useful Post:
Old 15-01-2011, 03:32 PM   #2
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,997
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default

Need to know more about what you are doing when you are getting the duplicate verts please.
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ctbram For This Useful Post:
Old 16-01-2011, 06:15 AM   #3
Vortexx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 35
Thanks: 2
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Default

I'm simply placing a poly plane in my view port to start sculpting a face, then I select a vert to move another stays in its place at the exact location. Currently what I do to resolve this I select all verts and merge and then begin modeling
Vortexx is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Vortexx For This Useful Post:
Old 16-01-2011, 10:50 AM   #4
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

Are you creating 2 planes? or accidently extruding? or possibly duplicating the plane?

cheers bullet
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bullet1968 For This Useful Post:
Old 16-01-2011, 02:35 PM   #5
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,997
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default

It sounds like you are creating 2 planes. How EXACTLY are you creating the initial plane? Does this happen when you create other poly primitive objects or just the plane?
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ctbram For This Useful Post:
Old 17-01-2011, 01:38 PM   #6
Vortexx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 35
Thanks: 2
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Default

I simply click create plane the on the view port click and drag the plain out
Vortexx is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Vortexx For This Useful Post:
Old 17-01-2011, 04:33 PM   #7
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

under create > polygon Primitives
uncheck interactive creation at the bottom.
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to honestdom For This Useful Post:
Old 17-01-2011, 04:45 PM   #8
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,997
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default

Ah there you go. Turn off interactive creation as suggested by honestdom and see if that fixes it. I am still not sure how you are getting duplicate planes though but turning off interactive creation will remove one variable at least.

You did not answer my other question. Are you getting this behavior with anything other then the poly plane?
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ctbram For This Useful Post:
Old 18-01-2011, 09:21 AM   #9
Vortexx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 35
Thanks: 2
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Default

Apologies, missed the question, No I do not, only poly plane.

Will turn it off interactive creation.

Thanks guys
Vortexx is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Vortexx For This Useful Post:
Old 18-01-2011, 10:05 AM   #10
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

So you are positive you are creating just a plane? and not a cube by accident? are you maybe touching the 'g' key which is 'repeat last command' ?? cos this is really bugging the hell out of me...I cannot replicate your problem. Can you post a quick video showing us what you do please...or at least some stepped screenshots?

cheers bullet
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bullet1968 For This Useful Post:
Old 18-01-2011, 06:59 PM   #11
Vortexx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 35
Thanks: 2
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Default

Will see what I can do but think that honestdom solution helped
Vortexx is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Vortexx For This Useful Post:
Old 18-01-2011, 09:13 PM   #12
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

if exit on completion was switched off, and you double click would that not create two planes?
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to honestdom For This Useful Post:
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.