SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Home / forum / Lounges / Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge / Subdivisions aren't working
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 28-03-2011, 04:57 AM   #1
Becko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default Subdivisions aren't working

I'm not being able to manipulate the object's subdivisions. Basically when I click on the object's name "pCubeShape1" under "SHAPES" section instead of getting the subdivisions parameters I just get the "pCubeShape1" text highlighted without any subdivisions parameters as shown on the image below:



Please, I need someone to help me fix this problem, so I can have access to the subdivisions.

Thanks

Last edited by Becko : 28-03-2011 at 05:03 AM. Reason: missing information
Becko is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Becko For This Useful Post:
Old 28-03-2011, 06:26 AM   #2
Becko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default I found the solution

ok so just to let you guys know, I found the solution,

My frist mistake was to google the problem as "maya subdivision not showing", I found out that my problem were not subdivision but missing "INPUTS" so I googled the issue as "INPUTS not showing in maya"

and found this solution:

Quote:
Quit Maya
Then you have to find your prefs folder in maya 2009 and delete it
When you restart maya it will start with its default settings
I cant tell you where to find it on windows cause I use a mac for me its
user/library/preferences/autodesk/maya/2009/prefs
If your worried about deleting a folder just move it to eg: desktop so you can always replace it if you need
Hope this helps
source: http://forums.tutorialized.com/maya-...ox-172081.html

Basically the only thing needed to fix this was to delete the "prefs" folder and now is working, I though this was needed to be posted here for any further reference regarding the same issue.

Cheers
Becko is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Becko For This Useful Post:
Old 28-03-2011, 06:59 AM   #3
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,501
Thanks: 16
Thanked 645 Times in 567 Posts
Default

Deleting your preferences is kind of a drastic move this. You didn't have construction history on so Maya didn't keep track of what you've been doing to the obj.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	5566548849_40ac940399_b.jpg
Views:	481
Size:	176.2 KB
ID:	46520  
__________________
- Genny
__________________
::|| My CG Blog ||::
::|| My Maya FAQ ||::
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Gen For This Useful Post:
bullet1968 (28-03-2011), David (28-03-2011)
Old 28-03-2011, 04:25 PM   #4
stwert
EduSciVis-er
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,373
Thanks: 74
Thanked 710 Times in 642 Posts
Default

Post #6 in the FAQs... http://simplymaya.com/forum/showthread.php?t=35308

Last edited by stwert : 28-03-2011 at 04:43 PM.
stwert is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to stwert For This Useful Post:
David (28-03-2011)
Old 28-03-2011, 05:39 PM   #5
Becko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GecT View Post
Deleting your preferences is kind of a drastic move this. You didn't have construction history on so Maya didn't keep track of what you've been doing to the obj.
Thanks for the info, next tine I'll know the solution is just one icon click and not a folder-delete action.
Becko is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Becko For This Useful Post:
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Arrrg! what did I do? W, R, E, suddenly not working! KaisoArt Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 6 24-03-2011 03:05 PM
Painting weights stopped working PaperMoon Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 1 20-03-2011 12:00 PM
reflection tool not working choo Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 1 20-03-2011 08:49 AM
Subdivision Problem RobboUK Technical Issues 12 06-03-2011 02:41 PM
booleans not working chilledoutredhead Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 4 04-02-2011 09:03 PM

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.