SimplyMaya Forums

Welcome to the forum, feel free to ask questions here.

Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

New Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-04-2003, 12:49 PM   #1
ade90054
Registered User
 
ade90054's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: England
Posts: 143
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Scaling?

Hi,
As an ex-Max user i'm used to being able to scale objects on a non-uniform level, so for example I could scale something in the perspective viewport only along the z/x axis ( thus not scaling the objects height! ) Is this possible in Maya, so far I can only seem to scale on 1 or all of the axis!!!! This is abit annoying as I end up having to adjust the x axis seperately from the z?
ade90054 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2003, 01:39 PM   #2
GateKeeper
Subscriber
 
GateKeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 171
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

As Far as I know thats pretty much the only way to do it. If you want to easily scale two axis uniformily then I would go ahead and enter the numbers in the box on the right hand side of your screen. (Darned if I could remember what its called at the moment)
__________________
~GateKeeper
Not really certified not really new!
GateKeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2003, 02:16 PM   #3
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

I'm not sure, but can't you just select the axis you want to scale in the channel box, then simply MMB-drag to the right in the viewport?

Hold on... .gonna try it...
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2003, 02:21 PM   #4
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Yep worked.

Below is an image of what I was talking about.

Just highlight the attributes you wanna mess with in the channel box, then Middle-Mouse_Drag to the right or left in your viewport to only affect those channels you want to change
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2003, 02:22 PM   #5
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

and GateKeeper... NO! I'M Duditz! hehe...

That was a pretty cool movie
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2003, 02:49 PM   #6
I-Iybrid
Simply Maya OG
 
I-Iybrid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Queensbury NY, US A
Posts: 1,438
Thanks: 2
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GateKeeper
(Darned if I could remember what its called at the moment)
Its called a Channel Box I believe.
__________________
- Hybrid
I-Iybrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2003, 04:58 PM   #7
ade90054
Registered User
 
ade90054's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: England
Posts: 143
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks ragecgi, I tried that and yes it workes for x/y axis, but try doing the same thing for x/z, your find you'll get funky results, maybe it's just me?
ade90054 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2003, 05:00 PM   #8
ade90054
Registered User
 
ade90054's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: England
Posts: 143
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Small update, I just tried it again, it seems to me that it only takes notice of the first axis you happen to select!
ade90054 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2003, 05:26 PM   #9
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

heh heh, I love it when I learn something on my own.

Just messed around a bit and I found it!

Select the handle you DON'T want to scale.. and then hold ctrl and Middle mouse drag in your scene.

It will then scale in the OTHER two directions!



This also works for the move tool, but not for rotate, it seems.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2003, 05:37 PM   #10
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

ooooo. Nice one Mike. I'll be using that trick more often.
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2003, 11:45 PM   #11
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Mike to the rescue again!!! whoohoo!
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2003, 04:31 AM   #12
Ultragames
Registered User
 
Ultragames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Go Super Mike! i mean man, no i meant mike, no, like, just regular Mike, no super, welll you shuold understand, but if you dont, hey, am I rambling on and on, if I am I should stop, well, only if you think so.

Lol, gj Mike.
__________________
Armitrex Studios
Now open!!
Ultragames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2003, 04:18 PM   #13
GateKeeper
Subscriber
 
GateKeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 171
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

lol ragecgi.... All I have to say is.... I CALLED IT FIRST!!!
I'M DUDITZ!

I'm glad we got this one figured out. This little tidbit's going to help make things -really- easy.
__________________
~GateKeeper
Not really certified not really new!
GateKeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2003, 07:55 PM   #14
dannyngan
Registered User
 
dannyngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Just a little tip for everyone: Whenever you have a tool selected, look at the Helpline at the bottom of the Maya window. It tells you which key combos you can use for different options.
__________________
Danny Ngan
Animator | Amaze Entertainment
my website | my blog | my job
dannyngan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2003, 10:20 PM   #15
ragecgi
Super Moderator
 
ragecgi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Default

You know, I keep forgetting that darn helpline...

Well, like my tax advisor said, if all else fails...read the instructions. hehe...

Thanks Mike and Danny!
__________________
Israel "Izzy" Long
Motion and Title Design for Broadcast-Film-DS
izzylong.com
ragecgi is offline   Reply With Quote
New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

1 Month

$34

Month-to-month billing
$34/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
 
 

3 months

$87

Billing every 3 months
$29/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $5 per month or $15 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

12 months

$288

Billing every 12 months
$24/month
Unlimited access to all videos
Project files to download
Easy to cancel at anytime
Save $10 per month or $120 in total compared to monthly billing with this package.

Your plan will automatically renew. You can cancel at any time via your PayPal account to avoid being charged again.

You can view the FAQ on our video plans here. You can contact us directly here. By clicking one of the buttons above, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.