Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 10-10-2010, 08:02 PM   #1
se7enhedd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 222
Thanks: 8
Thanked 56 Times in 55 Posts
Default locking and starting modeling

hi, apologies for the basic way i'm going to explain this - i know absolutely nothing about maya or 3d

i'm trying to catch up on the first lesson i missed in class while the tutor is away.

i had to set up reference pictures on poly planes. after spending two days trying to work out how to fit the image to the plane... i've managed it.
the next thing done in the lesson, was the planes were moved out of the way of the central grid in perspective view, giving a clear view, but still visible in the hoto views... done that... but how do i lock those planes so i dont keep selecting them? i know this is a very simple question, but i don't think i have the energy to spend another two days trying to find out the hard way...

also, the tutor mentioned something about working on just one side of the model -- whats the best way of doing this?

thanks in advance
se7enhedd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2010, 08:11 PM   #2
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
Thanks: 6
Thanked 28 Times in 23 Posts
Default

to lock those planes, highlight one of them (select it) and then create a new layer on the right in the channel box, right click the newly created layer and add selection to layer. You can rename the layer so you know what it is. Then do it with the rest of your reference images.
To lock them there will be 3 boxes next to the layer name, click the middle box until there is an "R" and the image should now be locked and you can't select it or move it.

to work on one side of the model I believe he means front and side views. Hit the space bar and it should go into top, front, side, and persp views. Put your mouse over which view you want to work in and hit the space bar again to bring yourself into that view.

Hope that helps!
__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com

Last edited by Rhetoric Camel : 10-10-2010 at 08:13 PM.
Rhetoric Camel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2010, 08:21 PM   #3
se7enhedd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 222
Thanks: 8
Thanked 56 Times in 55 Posts
Default

iv created the layers and added the planes -- i see but clicking does nothing - i've right clicked and looked at the context menus and suddenly i've got one layer with an 'R' and two with a 'T' - I don't know how i did it or how to change it??
se7enhedd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2010, 09:48 PM   #4
Rhetoric Camel
Subscriber
 
Rhetoric Camel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Plattsburgh New York
Posts: 1,222
Thanks: 6
Thanked 28 Times in 23 Posts
Default

clicking the T once or twice should change it to an R... making it unselectable

Not sure I quite get what your saying.
__________________
- Mike

http://rhetoriccamel.blogspot.com
Rhetoric Camel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2010, 10:04 PM   #5
se7enhedd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 222
Thanks: 8
Thanked 56 Times in 55 Posts
Default

well i don't know what i'm on about myself really.
they're all on 'r' now, i don't know how they ended up like that - clicking in the box did nothing. clicking in the box now does nothing really - the image disappears and reappears, but the letter doesn't change.
i seem to be in the right place, i just don't know how i got there.
se7enhedd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 12:03 AM   #6
bullet1968
Lifetime Member
 
bullet1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,255
Thanks: 158
Thanked 651 Times in 621 Posts
Default

does this help mate????

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/4090628/se7en.wmv

cheers bullet
__________________
bullet1968

"A Darkness at Sethanon", a book I aspire to model some of the charcters and scenes
bullet1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 06:43 AM   #7
Nilla
Administrator
 
Nilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Prague
Posts: 753
Thanks: 28
Thanked 233 Times in 186 Posts
Default

There's a really short tutorial that explains image planes in detail in the free section, if you download this one it will give you a visual which is probably easier to understand http://simply3dworld.com/movie_pages...html?tut_id=64

Another tutorial that's quite fun and helpful if you're a newbie is the cartoon dog, it's got image plane set up as well http://simply3dworld.com/movie_pages...html?tut_id=87

There done in older versions, but too much hasn't changed in the modeling field so it should be easy to follow.
Nilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 11:13 AM   #8
Johndoe050
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 78
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Also the basic human form covers reference images and it is good tutorial to start with. If you finish this tutorial before you next clas you have a good headstart :bandit:
Basic Human Form
Johndoe050 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.