Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 16-12-2010, 02:01 PM   #1
cyranovb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default HELP! Rendering output doesn't match animation

Hi everybody,

i created an animation with cheese and ham slices being cut from a loaf by a machine. While being cut they bend down and are instantly laid down to a band-conveyor. I animated this with a lattice deformer, which looks quite good in the viewport. Punctual test renderings turned out satisfying, too.
BUT if I render the animation in the batch renderer via command line, there's a strange effect. Some of the slices don't fall down on the conveyor flatly, but stay in a position shortly before the flat one. The result is that the slices stay lifted at the foremost edge, which is anoying.
This is just one shot, but two sections are rendered with double frame rate so I can insert a slow motion. The effect appears in real time sequences, too.
I'm rendering in mental ray with final gathering, 16 bit TIFF RGBA + Z-Depth and m2dToxik renderpass.
I already tried caching the animation without success.
Would be very grateful for hints or advice. It's urgent! Thanks for your help!
cyranovb is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to cyranovb For This Useful Post:
Old 16-12-2010, 02:17 PM   #2
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

does the problem show up in a playblast?
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to honestdom For This Useful Post:
Old 16-12-2010, 02:22 PM   #3
cyranovb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

I'm presently not at home, so I can't try. But I'll give it a try tonight. In a previous rendering with Maya Software renderer in a lower resulution the problem did not appear. Thanks!
cyranovb is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to cyranovb For This Useful Post:
Old 16-12-2010, 07:22 PM   #4
cyranovb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Tried the playblast. Everything looks fine. Might the problem be due to the motion blur pass?
cyranovb is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to cyranovb For This Useful Post:
Old 17-12-2010, 08:24 AM   #5
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

its hard to say without seeing it tbh.
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to honestdom For This Useful Post:
Old 17-12-2010, 09:26 AM   #6
cyranovb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Hi,

I tried rendering without the motion blur pass and now everything is put out correctly. It seems that with motion blur pass turned on maya doesn't render the full frames, but something inbetween. Hence the renderer seems to misinterpret the motion of the object
Does an anybody know a way to render a motion blur pass, which puts out the full frames?
cyranovb is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to cyranovb For This Useful Post:
Old 17-12-2010, 10:00 AM   #7
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

motion blur is calculated from the sub frames.
generally motion blur isnt a pass. it is something that renders on all the passes. you could try a motion vector pass tho.
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to honestdom For This Useful Post:
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Final Animation Project 2010 fairdinkim_m8 Finished Work 5 19-12-2010 05:44 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.