Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 12-03-2011, 08:52 PM   #1
cg451
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 18
Thanks: 1
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default ambient occlusion ray direction

how to i change the lighting direction for the ambient occlusion to match my scene lighting
cg451 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to cg451 For This Useful Post:
Old 12-03-2011, 09:08 PM   #2
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,471
Thanks: 101
Thanked 952 Times in 879 Posts
Default

I dont think you can on light direction(will be proved wrong) if you show a shot of the problem there might be another solution..........dave
__________________


Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
daverave is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to daverave For This Useful Post:
Old 12-03-2011, 09:41 PM   #3
cg451
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 18
Thanks: 1
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default

the model is lighted from underneath, but the occlusion is as lighted from above, i guess i could flip my model upside-down for the occlusion pass but that seems odd method to me
cg451 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to cg451 For This Useful Post:
Old 12-03-2011, 09:54 PM   #4
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,471
Thanks: 101
Thanked 952 Times in 879 Posts
Default

ambient occlusion is created from the models geometry not a light source that is way I said show us a shot a sreen shot to see if we can help..........dave
__________________


Avatar Challenge Winner 2010
daverave is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to daverave For This Useful Post:
Old 14-03-2011, 04:21 PM   #5
cg451
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 18
Thanks: 1
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default

i think i understand the problem then, i have a white floor under the model to reflect light up onto it, on the occlusion pass i guess this is actually making some areas darker
cg451 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to cg451 For This Useful Post:
Old 15-03-2011, 06:29 PM   #6
cg451
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 18
Thanks: 1
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default

yep works ok now
cg451 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to cg451 For This Useful Post:
Old 15-03-2011, 11:58 PM   #7
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

i think the problem is misunderstanding ambient occlusion... which creates contact shadows when one object is close to another. you can turn off ambient occlusion on specific geometry. would this be helpful to you?
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to honestdom For This Useful Post:
Jay (16-03-2011)
Old 16-03-2011, 09:05 AM   #8
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

thanks Dom for clearing that up.

Jay
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jay For This Useful Post:
Old 16-03-2011, 10:53 AM   #9
honestdom
The Nurb Herd
 
honestdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 2,381
Thanks: 4
Thanked 298 Times in 288 Posts
Default

if you want to have an object not occlude itself.
select the geometry, create an attribute called "miLabel" then in the ambient occlusion node you will see an attribute called id nonself. I think (can't really remember) but if you set both these attributes to the same value, the geo will not occlude. i could be wrong about the values, so i would just play around with the settings.
honestdom is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to honestdom For This Useful Post:
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Free Friday Tutorial #5: Mental Ray Approximation Editor Basic David Free Fridays 8 04-08-2012 11:19 PM
no Rigid Bodies with Mental Ray batch pherax Mental Ray 10 23-03-2011 12:35 PM
ambient occlusion problem jali Work In Progress 2 05-03-2011 11:07 PM
Layered Textures and Mental Ray Perfecto Maya Materials & Textures 7 01-03-2011 10:51 PM
mentay ray render choo Mental Ray 3 14-01-2011 02:06 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.