Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 27-03-2004, 04:40 PM   #1
dirty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Shark tutorial...

hi,

so my problem about the Shark tutorial is that i can't actually control the transparency of my image planes once i've mapped them with pictures with alfa-channel, just as was done in the tutorial. both diffuse and transparency buttons get locked, even though i load the picture into the diffuse slot only... the issue is only with the alfa-channel pictures...regular (rgb channel) pictures don't cause this problem (i can easily change transparency value)... it's not such a big issue for me but i'd be nice to be able to control planes' transparency with the locator via 'set driven key' option. so if anyone knows whats the problem please let me know. thanks.
dirty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2004, 04:46 PM   #2
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I don't think it is a problem, persay. When you load an image with an alpha channel for transparancy, it automatically gets mapped to the transparancy channel as well. If you don't want that, right click on the transparancy attribute and "Break connection". You're then able to do whatever you like with that attribute.
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2004, 05:08 PM   #3
dirty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

yeah, well, that's what i did earlier, but the problem is that when i 'break the connection' the alpha-channel doesn't work.. i mean, i see the whole picture not only the shark itself as it was supposed to be.. so there's no point in 'messing' with the alpha-channel in Photoshop in this case since it doesn't work anyway

hmm, just don't know what i did wrong..any clues?

Last edited by dirty : 27-03-2004 at 05:36 PM.
dirty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SimplyMaya 2010 - Subscriber Updates Miss_Nova Site News & Announcements 6 13-09-2011 10:37 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.