Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 25-05-2004, 03:07 AM   #1
twesterhof
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Problem with extruding :(

I'm doing a tutorial from Maya 4.5 fundamentals, where I am box modeling an alien with a cube and smooth proxy. Everything works great until I try to extrude the front of the face. In the video tutorial, the guy selects two front faces and extrudes them, and their is no gap between the two faces (but there is a gap between the extruded shape and the mirrored image.) Then, he deletes the faces between the extruded shape and the mirror, and it all joins together. Well, when I do it, it makes kind of a hole in the front of the shape. I have retryed twice. I figure there is some kind of problem since when I extrude the faces it turns to four instead of two. Anyone have any idea what is going wrong? Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
 
twesterhof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2004, 09:30 AM   #2
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

polygons>>tool options >> keep faces together.

that should sort you out.

Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2004, 08:18 PM   #3
twesterhof
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thankyou so much! It worked!
twesterhof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2004, 12:00 PM   #4
bastiaanwormgoor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Holland
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I had the exact same problem.. They don't tell you to keep Faces Together-option to ON...
__________________
------------------------------------------------
...addict...but luckely for me it's Maya!
------------------------------------------------
bastiaanwormgoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2004, 12:57 PM   #5
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

it's one of those things you learn (like you two just have )

And just for the record get used to it maya doesnt tell you a LOT of things!!!



Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.