Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Batman by Jason Edwards
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 18-07-2004, 01:22 PM   #1
Registered User
G-Style's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default rendering images for print / shadow on white surface

im wondering how can i render an image in maya with a transparent background that will show up in photoshop.

also how can i add a shadow on a white surface without the ground showing.
maya user
G-Style is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2004, 07:49 PM   #2
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 88
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

for the transparency, open your Render Globals, and make sure the image output is one that supports alpha channels (like TGA, since Photoshop can read it), and make sure the "Alpha Channel (mask)" checkbox is checked.
now when you render, all your geometry will be visible, but the background will be transparent when you show the alpha channel.

to get a shadow on a white surface i'd just make a plane and give it a white lambert shader, and then play with the attributes of the shader until it turns out how you want.
Check out my releases for RACER.
see the WWW button
f50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-07-2004, 08:32 AM   #3
Alan's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

to get the shadow layer:

Turn on the render layers in your render globals. Make a new render layer and make sure that your ground plane is in it. Now turn off all of the other options in render globals apart from shadow. You will now just have the shadow pass of that layer.

Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-07-2004, 07:01 PM   #4
Registered User
Dann's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 695
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

Yeah, but Maya's shadow layers are very buggy. I've found them to often be inaccurate and have artifacts in them so check your renders carefully when they're done. I know of no work around for this other than the aforementioned white lambert trick.
Dann is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.