Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 28-09-2004, 03:10 AM   #1
phloam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Problem with Light effects - any advice?

I would have thought it'd be an easy task to make all four key lights of my scene have a glow to them. I've been trying for ages to get it happening though and it's unbelievably difficult.

First of all, when I set one light up and duplicate it, the light glow doesn't transfer with it - fair enough, but when I try to add new light glows to the other lights it often doesn't work, and instead I get a big list of light glows in hypershade that are disconnected and useless.

I've never had a successful render with all four glows - is there an easy solution for this?

All I want is to use the same light-glow node for all four lights. Can this be done?

THanks
-
ph
__________________
I consist of mostly water.
phloam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2004, 04:05 AM   #2
Pony
Subscriber
 
Pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: with PonysGirl
Posts: 2,573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

not sure what you meen buy light glow. could be my inxpirance with lots of difrent light situations.. Don't know if there is a way to fix this but a work around would be to composit them.
Pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2004, 09:43 AM   #3
Alan
Moderator
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,800
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

I agree with pony about doing it in post. If you do it in the render you are stuck with it (barring a re-render). Where as if you just render the light or a sphere or something to represent the light and then blur the hell out of it and make it brighter in comp (which is what a blur essetially is!) then you can tweak and control it without re-rendering.

As for duplicating the lights and keeping the glow you would need to turn on "Duplicate input connections" in the duplicate options. But I think this would mean they all had the same glow attached to them. Try it.

And if that fails, why not do one and write down exactly what you did and then follow your instructions for the rest of the lights? You can even open the hypergraph and look at the connections it makes for the one light that does work and then copy the connections on the unconnected nodes...



Alan
__________________
Technical Director - Framestore

Currently working on: Your Highness

IMDB
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Model Errors Urgent advice!! sreynoso Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 11 23-10-2014 12:39 PM
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM
paint effects... se7enhedd Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 4 04-12-2010 04:59 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.