Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 08-10-2002, 10:30 PM   #1
BLADE
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: GOOD OL' GA
Posts: 79
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default polygon split tool

what went wrong? through the window you can see a red sphere, but when i use the poly split tool to cut out my door (same as i did with the windows!!!) it takes away or fills in my window on the left (2nd pic...windows gone!!)
__________________
"He who would sup with the mighty, must climb the Path of Daggers."
BLADE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2002, 10:31 PM   #2
BLADE
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: GOOD OL' GA
Posts: 79
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

no red sphere...window is simply filled in....why!?!?!?


in this pic you can see that i have a door shape "cut " out....i used split poly tool, then deleted the face from the door...any help would be grrrreeeaaattttlllyyy appreciated
__________________
"He who would sup with the mighty, must climb the Path of Daggers."

Last edited by BLADE : 08-10-2002 at 10:34 PM.
BLADE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2002, 12:34 AM   #3
mtmckinley
The Maya Mountain
 
mtmckinley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 8,245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Default

I wouldn't know without taking a look at the file itself, but when making doors and such, try extruding them rather than split polygon...
__________________
-Mike
www.mtmckinley.net
The Maya Toolbelt
mtmckinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2002, 12:38 AM   #4
Darkon
SM Alumni
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 509
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Or you can try doing some Booleans

The only problem with them is it screws up the mapping where the cut is made, but if you choose the surface and go to Edit Polygons/Texture/Create UV's Based on Camera, it works fine

Darkon
__________________
Red bellows of flame have blackened my stones
Convulsing my frame and cracking my bones
Hell's dragons of steel who roar in their chains
Crawl into my caves to suck out my veins.....

-The Mountain P.F.M.
Darkon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2002, 12:45 AM   #5
kal
SM Alumni
 
kal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Exeter, UK
Posts: 407
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ahh nice tip darkon - never knew about the "UV based on camera" command.
kal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2002, 01:00 AM   #6
BLADE
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: GOOD OL' GA
Posts: 79
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

here is the file....just poly split a door between the podiums and viola!! windows gone.. even if i find a different way to make my doors and windows( thanks by the way!!:p ) i would still like to know why this happens..
__________________
"He who would sup with the mighty, must climb the Path of Daggers."
BLADE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2002, 01:58 AM   #7
Darkon
SM Alumni
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 509
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Kal, I stumbled across that out of desperation a while back

Darkon
__________________
Red bellows of flame have blackened my stones
Convulsing my frame and cracking my bones
Hell's dragons of steel who roar in their chains
Crawl into my caves to suck out my veins.....

-The Mountain P.F.M.
Darkon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2002, 08:41 AM   #8
Kevin
 
Posts: n/a
Default

blade I will have a look today but yes , it shouldnt have done that from the split tool!
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2002, 12:12 PM   #9
Kevin
 
Posts: n/a
Default

blade...all you need to do is split the object correctly like in the image below... I deleted the window just so I could see what was wrong.

All you had on the other side of the wall was a curve left and didnt have the splits joining up to the edges. Dids you delete the edges that it made?

Any how mate..here is how you should split it..

hope this helps
  Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2002, 04:50 PM   #10
BLADE
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: GOOD OL' GA
Posts: 79
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ahh.... so with the edges deleted ............ok gotcha!! thanks kevin
__________________
"He who would sup with the mighty, must climb the Path of Daggers."
BLADE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2002, 11:41 AM   #11
tvholicjames
Subscriber
 
tvholicjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 188
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I guess using the trim tool is out of the question huh?
I cut a hole on the wall to make a window last time.
jl
tvholicjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2002, 01:34 PM   #12
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Trims are for nurbs. I believe we're dealing with polygons here...
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.