Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 08-02-2005, 07:00 PM   #1
CBP3D
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: phelps,ny,usa
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default displacing paint effects??

is there a way to displace paint effects curves??

For example, I have a scene with water and the water has displacement. I would like to paint (moss) on the water in order for it to flow simultaneously. Is there a way to do this??
CBP3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2005, 08:24 PM   #2
LauriePriest
Moderator
 
LauriePriest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London
Posts: 1,001
Thanks: 0
Thanked 59 Times in 51 Posts
Default

Curves on surface? make the surface live and then just draw the paint effects directly onto the surface? i think that should animate with the surface.
__________________
FX supervisor - double negative
LauriePriest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2005, 03:32 PM   #3
CBP3D
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: phelps,ny,usa
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you but I did try that. I started out with a live surface and created a curve on it. Then I used that curve to create the stroke for the paint effects. The history on the curve allows the paint effects to move and be manipulated when the CV's of that surface are but the displacement on that surface doesn't register with the paint effects. Looking for answers...thanks to all
CBP3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2005, 03:36 PM   #4
CBP3D
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: phelps,ny,usa
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Oh yeah, I also treid to attach the displacement map to the surface offset of the paint effects and it seems as though the offset accepts only one value at a time and didn't register the whole texture as a value like I was expecting. Thanks again
CBP3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
paint effects... se7enhedd Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 4 04-12-2010 04:59 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.