Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 12-03-2005, 04:22 PM   #1
jhaydock
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bonny Scotland!
Posts: 116
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default File can't be open!?

Please help, i've spent rather a long time doing this model.

Bisically when I try and open the maya file I recieve the folowing message:

fileOptions "Open" "projectViewer Open";
pv_performAction "C:/Documents and Settings/Jamie/My Documents/maya/5.0/Projects/Eve/Caldari_Shuttle.mb" "Best Guess";
file -f -options "v=0" -typ "mayaBinary" -o "C:/Documents and Settings/Jamie/My Documents/maya/5.0/Projects/Eve/Caldari_Shuttle.mb";addRecentFile("C:/Documents and Settings/Jamie/My Documents/maya/5.0/Projects/Eve/Caldari_Shuttle.mb", "mayaBinary");
// Error: line 1: Reading of binary file "Caldari_Shuttle.mb" failed. //
// Error: Error reading file. //

Has anyone come accroess this before? Will I have to start the project from scratch? i've tried importing but no luck

Cheers
jhaydock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2005, 06:27 PM   #2
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Have you run any diagnostics on your hard drive to ensure there are no bad sectors? You may be getting file corruption.
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2005, 07:22 PM   #3
jhaydock
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bonny Scotland!
Posts: 116
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have no bad sectors...

The file can be open, I may have worded that wrongly, but only one deformed cyclinder is shown in wireframe with no shader. I can see all the other objects in the Hypergraph, when selected I can apparently move and transform them in the view port but they are not showing up. Also I can assign shaders, but again the objects don't show.

Only the one object that loads renders...

Any more idea?

Cheers
jhaydock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2005, 07:32 PM   #4
Jay
Senior Modeler - Framestore
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 39
Thanked 425 Times in 381 Posts
Default

A quick way to solve this is to export the objects as .obj files then import back in.

_J
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2005, 07:56 PM   #5
jhaydock
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bonny Scotland!
Posts: 116
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the reply,

I tried this, however and it didn't work.

i've attatched the Maya Binary file if anyone wants to have a look at this anomoly.

Cheers,

Jamie
Attached Files
File Type: mb caldari_shuttle.mb (198.0 KB, 16 views)
jhaydock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2005, 07:59 PM   #6
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

umm. I opened it, saw what I think is one wing, tried to open outliner and Maya crashed...
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2005, 08:30 PM   #7
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

okay here's what i see now...
Item 1 had no UVs and no shader, items 2 &3 had no UVs.

there are still nodes I haven't been able to make visible...
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."

Last edited by mhcannon : 13-03-2005 at 08:38 PM.
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2005, 08:38 PM   #8
mhcannon
Subscriber
 
mhcannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Waianae, HI
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

outliner... numbered items are visible
Attached Thumbnails
 
__________________

AIM: mhcannonDMC

"If you love your job, you'll never work another day in your life."
mhcannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2005, 10:22 AM   #9
jhaydock
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bonny Scotland!
Posts: 116
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for that mhcannon, i'll just have to start the project again when I have time.

Thanks again,

Jock
jhaydock is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Open a Lightwave file in Maya 2011 radiant777 Maya Basics & Newbie Lounge 2 04-12-2010 03:45 AM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.