Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 17-09-2005, 11:42 AM   #1
xallever
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Image plane problem

i am new to maya and i'm experiencing this problem right now:

after importing the image planes, whenever i use the front and side views, i have two problems:

1. I can't see the x and y axis lines. They're covered by the image planes. I'll show you the picture.



2. It becomes very slow. Unlike the one in perspective view. I tried to use Windows > Hypershade, and it doesn't help either. Any help here?

Oh. And I'm using ATI Radeon 9600 Xtreme.

Any help would be much appreciated
xallever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2005, 03:23 PM   #2
xallever
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

oh I figured that the image has to have the white parts deleted before it can really be used. my bad. but I still do not understand why my computer becomes so slow at working in front view or side views, etc. besides the perspective view.
xallever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2005, 06:44 AM   #3
xallever
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Sorry. The one that worked was the one given by the support file. How am I supposed to prepare the image planes that will allow the working grid to be visible?
xallever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-09-2005, 08:28 AM   #4
t1ck135
Registered User
 
t1ck135's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,991
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

In your viewport go to shading -> x-ray (or shading -> shade options -> x-ray) to give a semi see-through look. You should then be able to see the grid.
I'm sure there are better ways but I do it that way at present.
__________________
Examples of bTraffic - a traffic animation tool for Maya
bFlocking - a tool for Maya 8.5+ to generate flocking and swarming behaviours
Jan/Feb Challenge 2007 Entry and W.I.P
May/Jun Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Mar/Apr Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Jan/Feb Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Nov/Dec Challenge 2005 Entry and W.I.P
Sep/Oct Challenge 2005 Entry and W.I.P
Jul/Aug Challenge 2005 Entry
www.flash-fx.net
t1ck135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Breakfast - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 4 19-04-2011 07:37 PM
Stratocaster - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 2 31-12-2010 10:30 AM
Rhinoman - Original SM Gallery Image by Septopus David Simply Maya Gallery 0 09-12-2010 02:42 PM
Physical Fitness Center Lounge - Original SM Gallery Image by Philip Miss_Nova Simply Maya Gallery 0 05-12-2010 12:32 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.