Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 21-09-2006, 12:58 PM   #1
boccaccio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default manipulator missing arrows/vanishes

My manipulator has is not displaying arrows (I am not in move normal mode.) if i select an object and hit the rotate or scale keys, then the manipulator vanishes; however I can MMB drag and tell that the manipulator is still at the same location it originally was. i just cannot select the handles or see it. Huge time crunch and I am the only Maya modeler here.

Please help!

Thanks in advance.
boccaccio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2006, 02:01 PM   #2
AnthonyCg
Registered User
 
AnthonyCg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Washington D.C
Posts: 620
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Maybe its just a bug, so restart and try again.
Or, maybe you can push + to increase the size of your manipulator cuz its probably really small.
Try reseting all of your preferences and things may work out.
__________________
"The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man."

George Bernard Shaw - Man and Superman
AnthonyCg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2006, 02:12 PM   #3
boccaccio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thanks echo red. you got my brain moving in the right direction.

it's solved...sort of...

i tried the '+' before and nada.

i created a new file, dropped a sphere in, checked the manipulator and it was fine. then i opened the file i am concerned about and the original problem with the manipulator was still going on. i ended up just importing the file into a new file and all is dandy...

i did not want to reset my prefs because i have sunk too much time into customizing them. it would have been way too depressing to bring them back to where i like them.

if anyone knows what the bug is or has a more direct fix, please respond.

cheers.
boccaccio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2006, 02:15 PM   #4
AnthonyCg
Registered User
 
AnthonyCg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Washington D.C
Posts: 620
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well, like booleans, Maya can piss you off at times.
I guess you can go through all of your prefs. and see if you clicked something by accident.
Theres gotta be a solution; you'll find it sooner or later.
__________________
"The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man."

George Bernard Shaw - Man and Superman
AnthonyCg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2006, 02:19 PM   #5
boccaccio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

lol. ah, so sadly true. most of the time maya keeps me quite happy though! well, i will peruse my prefs when all calms down, and post the fix if i discover it.

btw, that 5 dollars. it turned up in one of my shirts at the dry cleaners yesterday afternoon.

boccaccio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-2006, 08:44 PM   #6
AnthonyCg
Registered User
 
AnthonyCg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Washington D.C
Posts: 620
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I knew somebody would find it lol.
__________________
"The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man."

George Bernard Shaw - Man and Superman
AnthonyCg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2009, 11:59 PM   #7
garch
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Hey, the same problem just happen to me; everything was working fine and then before I knew it, the scale manipulators disappeared. I'm sometimes confused between the many shortcuts I use for other programs and hit random keys when I'm modeling in maya, which leads me to: what bloody key have I hit to cause that??
I haven't worked at all on my prefs so I deleted the file and everything went back to normal... is there a way to have a log of all the keys you pressed in a session?
garch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2009, 07:23 AM   #8
Ramsy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm getting the same problem. I'm new to Maya and my manipulators show up in different views but not others.
Then ten minutes later it's changed.....
What am I doing? I can't figure it out.
Ramsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2009, 07:55 AM   #9
gster123
Moderator
 
gster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Manchester Uk
Posts: 6,300
Thanks: 1
Thanked 51 Times in 45 Posts
Default

Sounds like a graphics card issue Ramsy, try installing the latest drivers for the card. Maya can be picky with cirtian cards.
__________________
"No pressure, no diamonds" Thomas Carlyle
gster123 is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.