Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 28-12-2006, 10:32 AM   #1
jetduck
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default kbBlur2d problem

I'm finishing up the apache animation tutorial. I used Mr. brown's kbBlur2d script as per the tutorial. But when I try to connect the apache color pass with the apache motion pass the script will run for 2 seconds, state complete, but doesn't output a single new image.


ARGH help!
jetduck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2006, 11:12 AM   #2
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

What does it say in the output window?

Typical problems with the blur2d utility relate to the file format or naming. The format has to be Maya IFFs and the files have to be named like file.iff.#, where # is the frame number.
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2006, 11:20 AM   #3
jetduck
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

kbBlur2d;
kbBlur2d: Executing the following system command:
blur2d -l 1 -s 1 -m 2 -r 0 -n 0 60 1 -p 1 -c "C:/Documents and Settings/Owner/My Documents/maya/projects/Apache/images/Apache_AnimationB.iff" -v "C:/Documents and Settings/Owner/My Documents/maya/projects/Apache/images/Chopper/ahBG.iff"
kbBlur2d completed.


thats all she wrote. When I try the fcheck, it looks for the file, which doesn't exist

// Error: Error reading file:
C:/Documents and Settings/Owner/My Documents/maya/projects/Apache/images/Apache_AnimationB_blur.iff.0 //


I didn't have a problem with the background pass at all.
Thanks for replying so quickly
jetduck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2006, 12:14 PM   #4
jetduck
Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok digging with the command prompt i found a deeper error

i run this at the cmd prompt:

blur2d -l 1 -s 1 -m 2 -r 0 -n 0 60 1 -p 1 -f C:\Apachetemp\color\Apache_AnimationB.iff -v C:\Apachetemp\motion\ahBG.iff

and i get back an error

C:\Apachetemp\color\Apache_AnimationB.iff -v C:\Apachetemp\motion\ahBG.iff
C:\Apachetemp\color\Apache_AnimationB.iff.0 + C:\Apachetemp\color\Apache_Animati
onB.iff.0 ==> C:\Apachetemp\color/Apache_AnimationB_blur.iff.0
Error in reading the motion vector file C:\Apachetemp\color\Apache_AnimationB.if
f.0

so the -f flag is causing the problem, but the color image has no motion vectors obviously...but the -c flag doesn't allow blur2d to see the input file.

any suggestions?
jetduck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2006, 01:13 AM   #5
kbrown
Moderator
 
kbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3,198
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Does your color image open in fcheck? What about the size of your motion images? If there is actually motion vector data, the files should be quite large. Are your motion and color images the same size and have similar file naming style (same padding etc...)?

I'm only guessing here. Maybe you should post one frame of the files for testing. I cannot help much further since I don't currently have access to a computer with Maya. I'm in a process of relocating so I might not be around in a while either...
__________________
Kari
- My Website
- My IMDB

Do a lot, Fail a lot and Learn a lot!
kbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem solving many dynamic objects in a pile? rohiniduggal Dynamics & Special Effects 3 14-01-2011 07:26 PM
apache environment problem andrew_sorensen Simply Maya Tutorials 4 08-12-2010 03:48 PM
Strange Problem - Unable to change attributes for multiple objects anthonysw3 Technical Issues 4 04-12-2010 11:56 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.