Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 02-02-2007, 04:57 AM   #1
robnelson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Polygon Face Offset

Hi Does anyone know how i can offset the face of a polygon shape?

I know this can be done with nurbs () but i want to do it with polygons.

I have done this very easily in SketchUp but want to do the same in maya... BTW i am new with maya!

Take a look at the atached image!

Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
 
robnelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2007, 07:25 AM   #2
enhzflep
Subscriber
 
enhzflep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 313
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yup sure,

It's really easy when you see it explained. I couldn't find out how to do it for love nor money, just stumbled across somebody else's solution for it one day - well, I guess I could have asked, Derr!

First, you have to make sure that the face you want to work on is only one face - The ends of a cylinder, for example have to have all the edges deleted first, so it's just a 8,16,20 - whatever, sided face. 16, 3 sided ones won't work.

When that's done, delete the history on the object concerned.

Next, you select that face and hit extrude, BUT don't move any of the manipulators. With the object selected after the extrusion is 'done', go to the channel box and find an INPUT called polyExtrudeFace1, scroll down to near the bottom, and there's a channel called Offset. Just type a small number into this field and watch the results. You can also left-click on the word Offset and then drag with your middle mouse button over one of the panels to change this interactively.

Here's a pic.
Attached Thumbnails
 
enhzflep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2007, 07:00 PM   #3
robnelson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Cool Thank you

Thats it!

Thank you so much, if was'nt so expensive to fly to melbourne i would come over and shake your hand personally... this offset thing has been bugging me for ages... Thanks again.
robnelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2007, 07:10 PM   #4
enhzflep
Subscriber
 
enhzflep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 313
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default


Hehe, not a problem.

Know what you mean, it's something so basic yet it's hidden in the interface - I'd have thought it would have just been an option somewhere - to extrude an offset, that is.

Never mind, you'll just have to have a beer for me next time you're drinking.

Simon.
enhzflep is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.