Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 02-01-2008, 09:54 AM   #1
The Overseer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Scene won't render

Hey everyone, first post here.

Not sure if it's the right forum for this, but I'm having a problem with a scene I'm making as part of a longer animation (consisting of about 6 scenes). This is part of an animation course at my University, and it's my final project. I've already rendered enough to have an animation that I presented to the teacher, so I've basically passed the course, but I still want to finish this to have a chance at upping my grade and, well, because I've put so much effort into it.

When I try to render this scene (about 1600 frames), it either won't render at all, or it takes several hours for one frame to load. I softwarerender out frames in 640x480 with highest anti-aliasing quality. I tried lowering the anti-aliasing, but it makes absolutely no difference, oddly. I left the rendering on during the night, and when I came back about 16 hours later, it had rendered the first frame at 99%.

As you can see from the screenshots below, I use both NURBS and polygons, and two particle emitters. I asked the teacher for help, but he didn't know what was wrong either. I've tried deleting construction history and unused nodes. I also tried pre-tesselating NURBS, but it freezes after a while (might leave it on during the night).

So is the program bugging out or is the scene indeed "too complex"? Other scenes, that are somewhat similar, render out fine. It doesn't seem reasonable that it would take several months for this scene to be done. ANY help in this would be appreciated. Sorry if I haven't provided enough info.



The Overseer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2008, 10:25 AM   #2
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

sorry i cant help you there but i would like to see this animation
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2008, 11:02 AM   #3
The Overseer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'd love to show it to you, but without this crucial scene, which takes up like a quarter of the entire story, there's no animation. This is the first time I use Maya, and the first time I animate. I've only done some NURBS modeling in Alias Studiotools before.

I've learned one thing, though. I'll probably never try to animate polygons again.
The Overseer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2008, 11:10 AM   #4
elephantinc
Level 32 pachyderm
 
elephantinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 1,859
Thanks: 12
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Default

well thats a shame cause you need polys for organic models really
elephantinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2008, 09:04 PM   #5
t1ck135
Registered User
 
t1ck135's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,991
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

if you're using particles then you can create a particle disk cache. Then when you render it wont have an expensive overhead of calculating the particles as well as rendering the scene.
In Dynamics its in Solvers -> create particle disk cache

You can render using the command line which might free up a little memory but if it takes so long for just one frame then it probably wouldnt help.

Other than that I dont really know, if there are any diagnostics mentioned while it attempts to render then post them up.

Simon

p.s, polygon animating is fine
__________________
Examples of bTraffic - a traffic animation tool for Maya
bFlocking - a tool for Maya 8.5+ to generate flocking and swarming behaviours
Jan/Feb Challenge 2007 Entry and W.I.P
May/Jun Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Mar/Apr Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Jan/Feb Challenge 2006 Entry and W.I.P
Nov/Dec Challenge 2005 Entry and W.I.P
Sep/Oct Challenge 2005 Entry and W.I.P
Jul/Aug Challenge 2005 Entry
www.flash-fx.net
t1ck135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batch Rending Render Layers Ozgalis Lighting & Rendering 7 07-01-2011 07:04 PM

Thread Tools





A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.