Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 01-07-2008, 01:50 PM   #1
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default Rendering wire frames on smoothed models

Hi folks,

trying to do this at the moment. I've tried using a box ramp with two colours/no interpolation, which would be good except that it gives lines of varying thickness according to the density of the mesh (so you get very uneven lines).

The most luck I've had has been just applying a base mesh level uv map as colour, though the problem with this is that, due to the smoothing / uv seams, I've having to rejig and attatch different uv shells to there's not artefacting on the wire where seams join.

It's pretty laborious... isn't there any easier way just to render a base level wire on your smooth mesh?

cheers

gubar
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 03:52 PM   #2
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default

Ok, after messing around, I can get a nice wire frame render on my base mesh using the contour render feature of mental ray. It works on the smooth mesh too but obliviously renders the denser mesh... I'm hoping someone can tell me how to have the base wire, but rendered on the smoothed mesh.

cheers

gubar
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 10:34 PM   #3
NeoStrider
Registered User
 
NeoStrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio (USA)
Posts: 1,541
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

take a UV snapshot of your non-smoothed object, save the image, then apply the UV snapshot image as your material on your smoothed object
__________________
Accept no substitutions.
NeoStrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2008, 01:59 AM   #4
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default

Hi,

like I said in my first post, I've already tried this. It nearly works, but uv seams shows on the model.

cheers

gubar
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2008, 02:44 AM   #5
ExtrudedDingus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 72
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Have you seen this Gubar.. I did a google search and came across this. I haven't tried it though..

http://www.indigorenderer.com/joomla...pic.php?t=4119
ExtrudedDingus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2008, 02:52 AM   #6
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default

Hello,

thanks for the suggestion, but tried that one last night - it renders wires just fine, but only at the current level of subdivision.

Think the only way is to just relay all my uvs so that the seams don't show at all... having a bit of a look into rendering without wire, then doing a playblast with with wireframe on, then trying to blend the two in premier, not too hopefull about that solution though.

cheers

gubar
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2008, 03:03 AM   #7
ExtrudedDingus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 72
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It sucks something like this isn't easier. You would think this would be a super basic thing that's built into Maya..
ExtrudedDingus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2008, 04:14 AM   #8
gubar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,055
Thanks: 2
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Default

Yeah, it seems like a feature that would be nice to have as a render option under contour rendering - "render base wire" or something.

Anyway, time is important, so I'm just going to render it out base with wire, then smoothed, then textured.

I'm looking for a little advice re the turntable scene. The camera is set up, the background is just an image plane with a ramp, and the shadow is actually a plane with a circular ramp controlling it's transparency. The material is surface shader > ambient occlusion texture so no lights are used.

What are your thoughts on the background? I think it is prety dull and lifeless, but I was trying to get away from having a flat colour. Suggestions as to what to use, colour/plane/geometry wise would be appreciated to make this more appealing.

cheers

gubar
Attached Thumbnails
 
gubar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 11:10 PM   #9
Chirone
Subscriber
 
Chirone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NZ
Posts: 3,124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 147 Times in 143 Posts
Default

how bout a bit of bump mapping?
Chirone is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.