Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 11-01-2003, 08:54 PM   #1
abra
Registered User
 
abra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 161
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default working with construction planes

since i've started working with maya, i just modeled out of my mind... now i'd like to start with technical things and i don't know how to use construction planes for the blueprints (or is there anything else)

thx for the help
abra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2003, 09:09 PM   #2
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Ahh. This is easy to do. Create>Poly Primitives>Plane. Now, here's a little trick you're sure to like. Since you're only going to be using this plane as a blueprint, you really don't need all those faces, right? Select the plane, select polyplane1 (in the channel box), selectSubdivisions Width, shift-select Subdivisions Height, middle-mouse-drag your curser to the left or right in perspective view. As you can see, you immediately change the number of faces on the plane. This can greatly increase production time. AnYwAy, once you have your plane how you want it, right-click and hold, select materials>Assign New Materal>Lambert. Click the checkered box to the right of the colour slider. A window pops up. These are all the textures you can assign to the plane. Select File. Another window pops up. To the right of "Image Name" is a little button with a folder on it. Click it and find the blueprint image. Close everything out, then press 6 to display textures. Wala! You now have your blueprint on a plane.
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2003, 09:44 PM   #3
abra
Registered User
 
abra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 161
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thx a lot darkware!!! I just didn't know how to show textures in one of the non-render-views (i wondered sometimes when i red tuts)
abra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2003, 09:59 PM   #4
Darkware
Subscriber
 
Darkware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Yeah, all you do is press 6 when you get in the side or front view.
__________________
www.Darkware3D.com
Darkware is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.