Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Robot Volume 02 - Hybrid Rigging
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums
Loading

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 02-03-2010, 09:22 PM   #1
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,471
Thanks: 101
Thanked 952 Times in 879 Posts
Default Vertex to locater

Hi
I have a problem were I click on the vertex but the locater is in the postion that the vertex would be if I pressed the 1 button any ideas..........thank dave
Attached Thumbnails
 
daverave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 08:15 AM   #2
Gen
Moderator
 
Gen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,457
Thanks: 13
Thanked 635 Times in 558 Posts
Default

I think that's normal, as that is the actual position of the vertex.
Gen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 08:25 AM   #3
Mayaniac
As Zbrushiac sounds stupid!
 
Mayaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Derby
Posts: 1,241
Thanks: 23
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
Default

Yeah, that's the position of the actual vertex, while the other one is just the smooth mesh preview surface position. If you press '2' on your keyboard, you'll see your original mesh over the top of the smoothed mesh. Then you'll be able to edit/see your original vertexes directly, while maintaining the smooth mesh preview.
__________________
www.stevenegan-cgi.com

"Your weapons are no match for ours! People of Mars, surrender!"
"Um, this isn't Mars. This is Earth."
"Earth? Earth-with-nuclear-weapons Earth?"
"Yes."
[long pause] "Friend!!"
Mayaniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 09:09 AM   #4
daverave
The thin red line
 
daverave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: England
Posts: 4,471
Thanks: 101
Thanked 952 Times in 879 Posts
Default

This has only just happend, before the locater was over the vertex when I pressed the 3 button, all I did was go to display show non planer faces then this happend? thanks for your replys.......dave

Edit: I must be wrong I just reset pref still the same.......thanks all the same......dave

Last edited by daverave : 03-03-2010 at 09:41 AM.
daverave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 12:08 PM   #5
ctbram
Moderator
 
ctbram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,995
Thanks: 42
Thanked 582 Times in 532 Posts
Default

I have been using maya for a very long time and I am quite sure hardware smoothing acts the same as poly proxy mode where the move widget is always on the vertex cage position not the smoothed position.
__________________
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." Sir Isaac Newton, 1675
ctbram is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletinŽ Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.