Maya Training

Introduction to Hard Surface Modeling

Maya Training

Interiors and Furniture Vol 1 & 2 - Modeling & Cloth

Maya Training

Shading, Lighting and Rendering the Bedroom in MR

Maya Training

Robot volume one - Modeling with animation in mind

Maya Training

Spach-Alspaugh House the complete courseware

Maya Training

Burt The Cartoon Dinosaur Vol 01 - Modeling

New Maya Training

Batman by Jason Edwards
You are here > Home > SimplyMaya Community Forums

Welcome to Simply Maya

Please Sign in or Sign up for an account

Member Login

Lost your password?

Not a member yet? Sign Up!

Old 16-07-2003, 08:30 PM   #1
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: germany, koeln
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default ajustements

just when i open a new scene and i want to execute a mel script, there appear an announcement that the script can not be found. so i open the script editor and use script source by selecting the directory where the is located and afterwards the mel can be found.
is this right that i have always to locate the script or is there a possibiliy that all imported scripts run by starting maya? what can i do?

as long as no object is selected in the outliner the dialog closes by releasing the hotkey buttons crtl+o. i don´t like this setting. the dialog should stay open by pressing crtl+o once.

how to leave a working operation?
i have read that with the button ~, you can stopp and leave a process.
it doesn´t works at my computer. perhaps because of the german tastatur?
does someone know how i can fix this?
colomea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2003, 12:12 AM   #2
Witchy's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,254
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

If I understand you correctly, on the first question, you can drag the script name from the script editor to the shelf (once you have sourced it the first time or installed it in the script directory) with your middle mouse button. That will give you access to it from the relevant shelf instead of sourcing it from the script editor and command line each time. You can also assign it a little icon thing with the shelf editor. I do this for all the scripts I use most often and it's a lot handier than having to remember exactly what they are called etc as it's easy to make a mistake with all the case sensitive stuff.

IIRC the CPS tutorial on this site goes through setting up scripts with shelves.
Witchy is offline   Reply With Quote

A little bit about who we are
Links you might find useful
Catch up with SimplyMaya
SimplyMaya specialises in Maya tutorials. We offer over 1,000 individual Maya training videos, ranging from basic Maya tutorials through to intermediate Maya tutorials. Our tutorials are created by instructors with industry experience and are designed to get you up and running in Maya quickly without making it seem like hard work.

Copyright © 1999-2015 SimplyMaya - vBulletin® Copyright © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.